Grants:APG/Proposals/Community/Review

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Translate this page; This page contains changes which are not marked for translation.

1 > திறமையான வேலையில்லா பட்டதாரிகளுக்கு சுயதொழில்தொடங்க உதவலாம். 2 > ஆர்வமுள்ள ஏழை விவசாயிகளை,கண்டறிந்து கொஞ்சம் நிலமும்,பொருளும் வழங்கலாம். 3 > உலகில் மின்சார தட்டுப்பாடு நிலவிவரும் இவ்வேளையில் சிறுதொழில் முடங்கிபோகும் அபாயம் உள்ளது.எனவே,காற்றாலைகள்,சூரிய மின்சக்தி,போன்ற,மின் உற்பத்திக்கு உதவலாம். During this community review period (1 October - 31 October 2014), the Funds Dissemination Committee invites you to review any or all submitted proposals for this round by examining how they aim to use Wikimedia donation money to further the movement priorities. A list of these proposals follows. You are welcome to engage with other community members, FDC staff, or Wikimedia organizations (also called "entities") in on-wiki discussions about any proposal.

These proposals come from Wikimedia organizations that are requesting Wikimedia movement funds to implement their annual plans. While some proposals are lengthy, all proposals have an overview section that outlines the basic components of each request and the total amount requested in US dollars.

After reviewing a proposal, please post your comments and questions on the Discussion page of the proposal. You can post questions and feedback in your own language, not just in English.

As you read the proposal, you may want to consider some of these questions:

  • What experience does the organization have that will enable it to implement the proposal?
  • How realistic are the goals and intentions of the proposal?
  • How has the community been involved? If this proposal is successful, how will it affect the community?
  • What impact will the proposed programs have?
  • What are the areas of work you are most excited about? Which areas sound less promising?
  • Do you need more information after reading the proposal?

The community's comments and questions help the FDC to make decisions. Your comments and questions are read and reviewed by FDC Staff before FDC Staff compose Staff Proposal Assessments and are also considered directly by the FDC during deliberations. Community comments are essential to review proposals effectively. We expect that the Wikimedia organizations that have submitted these proposals will be able to respond to your comments and questions.

See more about community participation

Proposals for review[edit]

Amical Wikimedia — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$108,000.

Wikimedia Argentina — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$214,000.

Wikimedia CH — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$545,000.

Wikimedia Deutschland e.V. — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$1,576,000.

Wikimedia Eesti — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$83,000.

Wikimedia Israel — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$268,000.

Wikimedia Nederland — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$499,000.

Wikimedia Serbia — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$136,000.

Wikimedia Sverige — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$366,000.

Wikimedia UK — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$672,000.

Wikimedia Österreich — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$315,000.


See more about the Funds Dissemination Committee and Annual Plan Grants

Feedback on proposals[edit]

As others have said, use money to pay for servers and related maintenance. If there is excess money (hurray!), use it to pay for a subsequent year’s servers and related maintenance. JDAWiseman (talk) 21:03, 20 October 2014 (UTC)


By giving grants through such discussions, the grants will go to: 1. the one who can voice their point of view the loudest or 2. a developed country where majority of the users come from.

So, we cannot have a consensus on common grounds where everyone concerned is satisfied with the decisions made.

Instead, let Wikipedia grow organically, on its own and divert the six million dollars to increasing server capacity and day-to-day maintenance of the site. If there is any funds that are left, roll them over to the next year. VedantMadane (talk) 15:52, 20 October 2014 (UTC)


All these proposals are from the developed countries with comparatively much higher internet penetration and wikipedia presence (of their cities and topics). To help spread the wikipedia, all of these proposals must be REJECTED and the funds must be instead released to entities in countries where there is less internet density i.e. Asia, India, China, Africa and Latin America e.g. run campaign to educate school and university kids there on how to update wikipedia and create NEW wikipages on things that are important in their communities but do not yet exist on wikipedia. Currently, wikipedia is more like repository of knowledge of the western world (specially when it comes to the cities, places, history and location-culture-specific topics).
Thanks.
Vdhillon (talk) 13:33, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

It will be a little difficult to use funds for Wikipedia in China, where it is censored...--Laberkiste (talk) 15:50, 19 October 2014 (UTC)
I agree with the above. All large Wikimedia projects should be self-sustaining. For instance: the German Wikipedia requests 25% of the $6 million, but they should get 0%. There was $1 million donated to Wikimedia Fördergesellschaft and they should use that alone without requesting additional monies from the FDC. English should also be self-sustaining, covering the U.S., U.K., etc. groups. The languages receiving this funding should be smaller projects representing relatively widespread languages which do not have large Wikimedia presences and therefore do not receive many donations. Some good places to start might be Mandarin, Hindi, Bengali, Thai, and other widely spoken Asian languages that represent economies that are not yet post-industrial in nature. Omnibus (talk) 14:00, 19 October 2014 (UTC)
I'm not sure how serious the proposal was, but IF the major Wikipedias should be self-sustaining, that should be a process spanning over a few years instead of suddenly saying "You're on your own" without a warning. /abbedabbtalk 16:13, 19 October 2014 (UTC)
to the extent the chapters are doing things the WMF wants to be done, the WMF might want to fund them, or they might not get done. if you force the chapters to get grants from other funders, then your "influence" with them will be 0, equal to your funding. i've found that you get better results with a kind word and a check, than with just a kind word. i find a profound ignorance of non-profit finance among the community; it's unclear to me what the benefit of this feedback is. we need continuity of organizations, and to stop ideological battles. Slowking4 (talk) 16:46, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

I believe Wikipedia's core mission is to remove ignorance. And I believe that terrorism is caused not by religion but by lack of education. Therefore Wikipedia should incline to develop itself in countries oppressed by war and prejudice. I believe that investing in free access to information and knowledge will guide us into an all-accepting world culture guided by wisdom. By access to information I mean only to such unbiased and objective facts that are allowed by Wikipedia.
Kildwyke (talk) 15:00, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

I would like to lend my support to that which was said by Vdhillon and Omnibus. Interlaker (talk) 17:24, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

Many of these proposals seem like a waste of time. Some involve using traditional forms of marketing to promote the projects when all marketing should be online. Others talk about attracting more contributors when they already have huge numbers. One, the Estonian Wikipedia proposal I'm unsure about as in my experience the vast majority of Estonian-speaking Estonians use the English Wikipedia by default because of the high degree of English language knowledge in the country and the greater depth of the English project. Why are we discussing this? Surely the project with the greater reach will more likely win? Spend the money on server costs and a way of simplifying the Wikitext mess - that's what's stopping people from contributing.--Xania (talk) 17:53, 19 October 2014 (UTC)
To contribute to other languages, people worldwide must learn other languages. Not one single high school in the US teaches a lesser-known language, like Estonian language. Two-year colleges ("community colleges" in the US) offer several languages, not many or all. Four-year colleges/universities in the US offer a few or several languages. The only way to learn Hebrew is attending a Jewish college/university. To learn other languages, a lot of effort is needed. Either a competent teacher with well-spoken language or studying abroad is needed, but either requires a lot of money. Also, which countries accept American dollar for currency trade? How is money paid: in Euros or in Russian rubles? --George Ho (talk) 19:35, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

I agree with the above opinions on that specific language projects, at least major ones, should be self-sustained and our money donated to (global) Wikipedia must be spent on solving overall infrastructure problems and not given out to a specific language's community. Wikipedia servers are slow, Wikipedia markup languages are a mess, Wikipedia's software is buggy, Wikipedia's editing facilities are buggy, slow, and inconvenient, Wikipedia's rendering engine is buggy, Wikipedia lacks research, presentation, and visualization tools -- here is where the global community could benefit from the use of funding: on the core infrastructure and underlying software. Gelbukh (talk) 19:43, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

An exception from the above (here I agree with Kildwyke) is to help to initiate or consolidate Wikipedia communities in countries most suffering from lack of education (and thus most dangerous to others: education is the best weapon against terrorism). Gelbukh (talk) 19:43, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

As to developed specific language communities, Wikipedia Foundation should help them to raise their own funding campaigns: the users should be given an option to donate (perhaps, in percentages) to a specific Wikipedia project OR to the Wikimedia Foundation to be used on the software and infrastructure: say, one would donate 40% to Estonian Wikipedia and 60% to Wikipedia infrastructure. With this, major projects would be self-sustained (and probably there will be many more people willing to donate to Estonian Wikipedia than those who now donate to Wikipedia "in general"). Wikimedia Foundation could still choose to support incipient projects (minor languages in culturally endangered countries). Gelbukh (talk) 19:43, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

I agree with the comments above, these are largely all a waste of time. Donations should be used to improve content and access, forget advertising. We need experts at this point, not kids still learning how to add brackets. As far as I'm concerned, staff should stop focusing on the "paid advocacy" witch hunt (we get it, evil bias, whargarbble), and use this fortune to hire neutral online entities to translate pages, with an urgency. We also need to send a horde of neutral, motivated editors to reform an article rescue squad. Hundreds of salvageable pages are deleted every day because a few inexperienced editors thought they "seemed like advertising," when all that was needed were five minutes of rewording and scrubbing. And the pages most susceptible to "disappearing"? English pages about non-English topics, since the editors doing the deleting don't bother to find backing research in other languages. In case I haven't been clear so far, HIRE TRANSLATORS AND DO REAL TANGIBLE IMPROVEMENT OF CONTENT. HIRE A #4%ING ARMY IF YOU NEED TO. Looking at this community and seeing how many thousands are spent on "research" and bickering over logistics, and how little is spent on content, it's frankly disgusting and embarrassing. Earflaps (talk) 20:20, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

I agree with a lot of what is posted here. Update the servers, interface and rendering, translate more pages, make connections with more expert communities. Just one thought, how about duolingo? I don't know about their prices, but they have a similar mission focused on language learning and translation. How about teaming up with other organizations that want to spread knowledge, like one of the dozens of ask a scientist programs in the US? I think we really need to look at the global mission, and not just fund already mostly developed local missions around the world, especially if they are not doing anything innovative. HeroTrapp (talk) 21:44, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

The Wikipedia Arabic community has been prevented from forming a chapter on a technicality for years, and as a result we never benefit from this kind of initiative. Internet use is increasing in the Arab world and Wikipedia is frankly missing out.--عبد المؤمن (talk) 23:12, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

To be honest, I am quite afraid that many of those money will be wasted and the results of those above projects can't be counted. If I would be WMF, I would do the following:
  • create a cultural magazine that publishes under Creative Commons it's text and photos. I am quite sure that it is not hard to find journalists who agree to post under CC license. For example a magazine that makes coverages of museums, monuments, culturally significant buildings, etc but also interviews and biographies of important historians, architects, writers, etc. I think it's doable by spending a modest amount each year (maximum $1 million). The articles and media published in the magazine will be used to add text into Wikipedia articles and it's photos will greatly enrich Wikimedia commons. Start such a magazine in any US state (say for example Washington), and then expand it to other states and then to other countries outside the US, even in the Arab countries. Try to find cultural funds, try to convince governments and businesses in those countries to fund the publication so the publication can grow and expand. Any country needs such cultural magazines and many countries don't have even one such publication. The publication can also attract funds by publishing commercial ads, which, for a magazine is quite ok. Some countries might have cultural funds that can be accessed for such an activity. The magazines in each country should be bilingual with all artilces in english/native language, so it's easier to keep in account their work. So it's easier to start such a magazine in a language that is hard to learn. They can make tops with the most important architects of that country in the 20th century and so on. Even as of today, I can't find such tops in my country, and I find that very frustrating. So the magazine can create lots of "robotic" tasks with such lists that are very important for the culture of that country - and for Wikipedia too. For example, if the most important architect of the country X is Y, then find the books about the person Y, and make a list with them. Now into my mind it pops the w:Observator Cultural publication, which is a literary publication in Romania and is very strong and abundant in information - it's a wealth of knowledge. It is sponsored by a lawyer company named w:ro:Mușat & Asociații. But I would very much like to have a Romanian publication that makes at least one coverage of another museum or important building per week and that is better structured into separate chapters (interviews/biographies/theatre etc).
* also I would start a project where a few photographers will be paid for taking photos for adding to Wikimedia commons: whatever photos are considered useful: animals, plants, buildings, villages, mountains, wildlife, etc. They can create incredibly wonderful thematic albums just like National Geographic or Nature or Discovery does. How much it costs to pay three photographers to start with? There are many articles where there are very few photos or none at all to chose from. Wikimedia should have at least one such photographer!
* Many government have funds for culture and they should be convinced by someone that it's good to sponsor such things - it's good for improving the country's education in the first place. That's how I would spend money and that's what I would try to do if I would be WMF. —  Ark25  (talk) 01:36, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

i agree with everything above, the proposals are a waste of resources. i propose the money goes to mediawiki to improve the framework powering wikipedia. it needs a plugin system that is 1 click to install plugins, needs a webmaster/admin/moderator interface, needs methods to insert arbitrary header information so people can easily insert google fonts, their own funky javascript, and external css such as bootstrap to make responsive mobile ready wikis. it needs at least 1 skin that is responsive & mobile ready by default. mediawiki needs a method to have paid content, it needs a method to have group restricted pages. it needs its links spaces converted from _ to - there are many many many little problems with the content management system. it needs to come hardened against spam out of the gate. it needs its caching documentation updated to show which method is preferred, it needs a system to prevent its documentation from regressing. plugins need example wiki sandboxes, and benchmarks to show performance hits, or improvements. it needs a full security audit. any fool can look at http://wikimediafoundation.org/wiki/Special:Version <--- this glaring security problem.... i guess you're running nginx, varnish, apache with mod_php 5.3.10, on mariadb 10, with a ton of plugins to give extra attack surface under ubuntu. (probably 12.04) instead of lighting this mountain of $$$ on fire on bs...... i propose you hire daniel robbins full time to work on these very real issues. 666threesixes666 (talk) 02:30, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

I similarly agree that small wikis, especially non-Wikipedias, need more help. I would like us to fund development of a tool for grant review, which shows the scope and language of each funded item. I will comment on the proposals separately on their own pages. Gryllida 05:05, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

If this was the case, Wikimedia India never got much of the money they asked for last year. Others got a lot, but WMIN did not. Let's be a bit realistic here. Developed regions will always get more money. ----Rsrikanth05 (talk) 07:10, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

Why is this about countries, organisations and languages? Am I the only person who was under the impression that my Wikipedia donations went towards server, networking and related infrastructure, running costs (ie electricity, bandwidth) and enough staff to keep aforementioned infrastructure running? Wikipedia donations should be about setting up the scenario and letting the public create the content, not about marketing Wikipedia to certain nations, languages, organisations. We print the book, people make the encyclopedia. Marketing and conferences shouldn't even come into it. Send the funds wherever Wikipedia needs more server/network capacity, and if there's any left over give it to a charity or save it for next year. 6 million dollars on conferences and leaflets? Shocking. Audigex (talk) 12:51, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

  • I'd like to second this motion. The server capacity is inadequate, crucial tools do not work properly forcing volunteer developers to spend progressively more of their private time to maintain them or quit altogether. The resignation of Magnus Manske (creator of CatScan2) is one fresh example. Money should be allocated to increase the capacity. --Deinocheirus (talk) 13:41, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

LSJbot Mods Dev[edit]

My vote: LSJbot-mod development grant for language articles such as Haitian Creole.[1] The "Haiti" page in that language speaks volumes in comparison to the English version. The rest, well, they need all the help they can get. #HaitiRelief? Twillisjr (talk) 18:55, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

WikiCup editing prize[edit]

I agree wholeheartedly with the comments above. The outreach programs of the chapters are important, but the "heart" of our project is technology, developers and editors. These three areas have not been growing fast enough over the last 5 years. I propose we make funds available ($1 million has a nice PR ring to it) as prize money for the winner of the 2015 WikiCup. Just think of the publicity that will generate. We need to thank our editors and a big prize is one way to let people know their worth (which many donors are keen to recgonize). Perhaps we could also run a WikiDevCup as well to thank the best volunteer developers. Oncenawhile (talk) 18:52, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

need to improve TAMIL language[edit]

as tamil is one of the Classical language among many languages in the world so you will spend at-least 7% for developing this language in Wikipedia.as well as in the world among many peoples this is my suggestion . Vijayganesh.s1996 (talk) 17:34, 20 October 2014 (UTC)vijayganesh.s1996

Public Access to Federal Court Documents - for free (like RECAP)[edit]

With the might that the Wikipedia/Wikimedia can bring to a project like making the records of our federal courts free to everyone and not be burdened by the Pacer System from the courts that charge 0.15 per page to access. There is so much pubic domain information that is behind a pay wall, which should be free and some money should be put to the effort of freeing these truly vital records to the public to make U.S. courts open to the world to see as our founders intended. Just a show of this as being a goal of Wikipedia/Wikimedia will open floodgates of money from individuals and organizations across the U.S. (Where the money is). Just give it a shot at some of the money, I would up my monthly donation if this were a goal of the site.

  1. http://news.discovery.com/tech/robotics/wikipedia-bot-writes-10000-articles-a-day-140715.htm