Help talk:Edit conflict

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Archives of this page


2005|2006|2007|2008
Please add new topics to the bottom of this page

Section editing results in duplicated material? Not currently, in my recent experience[edit]

I was just putting my vote in a straw poll on Wikipedia, and found I had an edit conflict because someone else voted at the same time. I was using section edit. So I copied my vote into the top edit window after the other user, clicked save, then checked this help page to refresh my memory. Upon reading about this supposed bug I became horrified that I might have messed up the page (which has around 300 votes on it) so I went back and checked, and lo, everything is fine. I wanted to remove the first reference to this duplication from the In the case Bob was doing section editing this will be interpreted... part but saw it would require rewriting the ..in the case of section editing, like before, the addition... part and I couldn't figure out how to word it properly, having not experienced the latter case. Has this bug actually been fixed, or did I simply experience some anomalous right-working of the edit conflict window? w:Dansiman 17:15, 6 January 2008 (UTC)

Update?[edit]

I'm not sure if this bit of text is still relevant:

In the case Bob was doing section editing this will be interpreted as the new version of the section, hence produce duplication of the other sections, unless Bob deletes them before saving. (This seems to be a bug.)

I could be wrong, of course, but I have never had this happen to me. Is this bug still around? 24.124.70.171 06:23, 15 November 2008 (UTC)

Removal of section edit bug[edit]

I am removing the statement about the section edit bug, as it appears to be no longer applicable, per the comments from 2008 on this talk page as well as my own experiences with MediaWiki. 76.235.63.193 20:47, 21 March 2010 (UTC)