Talk:Spam blacklist
| ←Requests and proposals | Spam blacklist | Archives (current)→ |
The associated page is used by the MediaWiki Spam Blacklist extension, and lists regular expressions which cannot be used in URLs in any page in Wikimedia Foundation projects (as well as many external wikis). Any meta administrator can edit the spam blacklist; either manually or with SBHandler. For more information on what the spam blacklist is for, and the processes used here, please see Spam blacklist/About.
Please sign your posts with ~~~~ after your comment. This leaves a signature and timestamp so conversations are easier to follow. Completed requests are marked as {{added}}/{{removed}} or {{declined}}, and are generally archived (search) quickly. Additions and removals are logged · current log 2013/05. |
Information
Tools
- Spam blacklist
- Title blacklist
- Vandalism reports
- Closure of wikis
- Interwiki map
Requests
- snippet for logging
- {{sbl-log|5496263#{{subst:anchorencode:SectionNameHere}}}}
Contents |
Proposed additions [edit]
| This section is for proposing that a website be blacklisted; add new entries at the bottom of the section, using the basic URL so that there is no link (example.com, not http://www.example.com). Provide links demonstrating widespread spamming by multiple users on multiple wikis. Completed requests will be marked as {{added}} or {{declined}} and archived. |
gg.gg [edit]
gg.gg
URL shortener. MER-C (talk) 10:16, 11 May 2013 (UTC)
Added. --Dirk Beetstra T C (en: U, T) 13:55, 20 May 2013 (UTC)
tr.im [edit]
tr.im
URL shortener. MER-C (talk) 13:02, 20 May 2013 (UTC)
Added. --Dirk Beetstra T C (en: U, T) 13:55, 20 May 2013 (UTC)
Proposed additions (Bot reported) [edit]
| This section is for domains which have been added to multiple wikis as observed by a bot.
These are automated reports, please check the records and the link thoroughly, it may report good links! For some more info, see Spam blacklist/Help#COIBot_reports. Reports will automatically be archived by the bot when they get stale (less than 5 links reported, which have not been edited in the last 7 days, and where the last editor is COIBot).
|
COIBot [edit]
The LinkWatchers report domains meeting the following criteria:
- When a user mainly adds this link, and the link has not been used too much, and this user adds the link to more than 2 wikis
- When a user mainly adds links on one server, and links on the server have not been used too much, and this user adds the links to more than 2 wikis
- If ALL links are added by IPs, and the link is added to more than 1 wiki
- If a small range of IPs have a preference for this link (but it may also have been added by other users), and the link is added to more than 1 wiki.
|
COIBot's currently open XWiki reports
|
||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Proposed removals [edit]
| This section is for proposing that a website be unlisted; please add new entries at the bottom of the section.
Remember to provide the specific domain blacklisted, links to the articles they are used in or useful to, and arguments in favour of unlisting. Completed requests will be marked as {{removed}} or {{declined}} and archived. See also /recurring requests for repeatedly proposed (and refused) removals. Notes:
|
AceShowBiz.com [edit]
AceShowBiz.com
Trying to get this whitelisted to reference an article which shows that Breaking Benjamin is defunct and no longer "on hiatus" as of 2011. The direct link is the link above followed by: /news/view/00042590.html —The preceding unsigned comment was added by 216.81.94.77 (talk • contribs) .
- Don't know why we would wish to remove it from the list, it doesn't look authoritative, just more gossip. You may be better to request a local whitelist at a wiki and see if the community wishes to use it. — billinghurst sDrewth 02:57, 3 April 2013 (UTC)
echansonnerie "sonnerie(?!\.org\.uk)" [edit]
Hi, someone on French Wikipedia cannot use http://echansonnerie.pagesperso-orange.fr/intro.htm because it is blocked here by "sonnerie(?!\.org\.uk)" I guess. The word "echansonnerie" (en:Cup-bearer) is not very common in French but should not be blocked. Maybe the regexp is too general, at least it should be something like "(?!echan)sonnerie(?!\.org\.uk)". --Akeron (talk) 11:31, 14 March 2013 (UTC)
- I have rem'd it out in the file, and we will see how we go without it. The regex is quite old, and not well documented on its insertion. — billinghurst sDrewth 14:53, 15 April 2013 (UTC)
shoe-shop.com collateral damage [edit]
shoe-shop.com
Following up on a discussion on the en-wiki whitelist page and blacklist page. Apparently someone got a bit too ambitious with the following meta blacklist regex:
(?:boot|shoe|ugg)[a-z0-9-]*(?:buy|cheap|mall|mart|outlet|shop|store|sale)[a-z0-9-]*\.(?:biz|c[no]|info|u[ks]|hk|jp|org|net)
...resulting in the blacklisting of shoe-shop.com, the official site of Pavers Shoes in the UK. I can find no record on en-wiki or here that this particular domain was ever discussed.
It looks to me like the .com suffix wasn't intended to be caught in that regex, but rather .co and .cn. Appending \b to the end of the regex may fix the problem. If not, is there a whitelist here on meta? I can always add shoe-shop.com to the en-wiki whitelist but not if it can be fixed here first. Thanks. Amatulic (talk) 20:12, 8 May 2013 (UTC)
- What I recall of the that ugg-outlets-shop-store-sale spam, it were a massive number of sites, accounts and wikis. It may indeed be that there is some collateral damage, but I would suggest to let the whitelists handle that. There is no meta-whitelist (the blacklist would have to do that with adapted rules .. where possible, or local whitelisting). Hope this helps. --Dirk Beetstra T C (en: U, T) 06:35, 9 May 2013 (UTC)
-
-
- Are we sure that this site was not one of the sites in that massive spam-case? --Dirk Beetstra T C (en: U, T) 08:51, 10 May 2013 (UTC)
-
360cities.net [edit]
360cities.net
I don't know why this web is blacklisted here on global Wiki but it seems useful from my point of view. No spam, worms, porn or something similar is on that website. Especially it is proper as external link in articles about various cultural monuments (I encountered this blacklist-problem when editing an article about the Freedom Monument in Riga on the Czech Wiki) because it contains impressive and illustrative photos of monuments and places from around the world. Iaroslavvs 13:31, 9 May 2013 (UTC)
- If I recall it correctly, unfortunately the owner of/people directly involved with the site thought it very useful as well, and spammed it throughout many wikis (on pages already riddled with similar images). On many wikis, there is no need to link to picture sites, free pictures of most of such things (like monuments) can be taken and uploaded to Commons to actually be put into our articles. Actually, the Czech wiki page, cs:Pomník svobody has already quite some pictures, and the English language page en:Freedom_Monument even managed to became featured with images already there - is there really need for a link to a picture site showing more pictures?
- For specific links, there is the local whitelist. --Dirk Beetstra T C (en: U, T) 08:45, 10 May 2013 (UTC)
- Even better, they were actively requesting people to spam Wikipedia: ""Please feel free to add links to 360Cities on Wikipedia" offering contributors 100% of the ad revenue generated ...". No wonder people saw it being spammed. See blacklisting request. I think,
Declined. --Dirk Beetstra T C (en: U, T) 08:50, 10 May 2013 (UTC)
Troubleshooting and problems [edit]
Discussion [edit]
| This section is for discussion of Spam blacklist issues among other users. |