Talk:Spam blacklist/Archives/2009-02

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki

Jump to: navigation, search
Warning Please do not post any new comments on this page. This is a discussion archive first created in February 2009, although the comments contained were likely posted before and after this date. See current discussion or the archives index.

Contents

Proposed additions

Symbol comment vote.svg This section is for completed requests that a website be blacklisted

annneftin.com spam

Spam domains









Deleted article


Spam accounts




--A. B. (talk) 14:46, 29 January 2009 (UTC)

Added Added  — Mike.lifeguard | @en.wb 14:56, 29 January 2009 (UTC)


Spammers attempting spam blacklist deletions often uncover more domains. Luckymurda's attempt to delete this entry has turned up another Neftin domain:[1]




--A. B. (talk) 20:05, 30 January 2009 (UTC)
Additional domain Added Added --A. B. (talk) 18:34, 31 January 2009 (UTC)

pdesigner.net spam

Azerbaijani web designer and search engine optimization consultant. Spam originates from IPs in Azerbaijan and Italy.


Domains spammed on one or more projects registered to the spammer















Domains spammed on one or more projects by the spammer -- appear to be clients of the spammer's
















(related to stonexsurveying.com)





(related to stonexsurveying.com)



(related to stonexsurveying.com)



The Stonex Surveying spam was especially egregious.


Related domains registered to the spammer









Additional related domains associated with Stonex Surveying



















Accounts














The spammer has a number of other clients; on en.wikipedia, we are monitoring them -- is there a way to also monitor them x-wiki? If so, I think it's a good idea. Here's the list:

--A. B. (talk) 18:20, 31 January 2009 (UTC)

All listed domains Added Added --A. B. (talk) 18:37, 31 January 2009 (UTC)

More:





 — Mike.lifeguard | @en.wb 23:30, 2 February 2009 (UTC)

Added Added that one too.  — Mike.lifeguard | @en.wb 04:58, 3 February 2009 (UTC)

Sasooow spam

Accounts:




Domains:









Google Adsense ID: 7515052916381176 --A. B. (talk) 19:40, 31 January 2009 (UTC)

Added Added --A. B. (talk) 19:51, 31 January 2009 (UTC)

3x3.in



URL shortener.  — Mike.lifeguard | @en.wb 03:21, 3 February 2009 (UTC)

Added Added  — Mike.lifeguard | @en.wb 03:22, 3 February 2009 (UTC)

diaghilev.org

Spam domain


  • Domain is for sale


Accounts









Cross-wiki spam


Reference

--A. B. (talk) 14:35, 4 February 2009 (UTC)

Was already Added Added - see the XWiki report.  — Mike.lifeguard | @en.wb 23:17, 4 February 2009 (UTC)

cheap-air-jordan.cn + others

Spam domains:








Related domains:






















This was especially disruptive since in some cases it was indiscriminately spammed to totally unrelated pages and in the middle of page texts. --A. B. (talk) 16:29, 4 February 2009 (UTC)

Added Added --A. B. (talk) 16:34, 4 February 2009 (UTC)

muselius.com



See e.g. http://www.muselius.com/api/. To be sure I asked at irc-channel #wikipedia-es whether they consider the link to be spam. They do. So do we at de-wiki. At pt-wiki the domain is blocked already. For that I Added blocked that domain now globally. -- seth 01:31, 21 January 2009 (UTC)

Hi seth!
What is the problem with this site? The page you mention http://www.muselius.com/api is just a page with documentation about how to use the API of this site. This has nothing to do with spam. I think :that muselius add value to some pages about art and museums with information, maps, etc. What is wrong with it? This info is not in wikipedia and this site is also editable, like a wiki, and has a community behind :maintaining the data it shows. Hope you can consider your decission. -- 85.0.208.95 22:11, 30 January 2009 (UTC)
There is no valuable information about museums on that website. Information about hotels near museums, a map, and about opening hours... that is not enough. See en:WP:EL. -- seth 00:01, 2 February 2009 (UTC)
Well, the amount of information this site has depends on each museum. Some of them has lots of information and comments from visitors. Anyway, this is no reason to consider that this site is a spam site. You could consider that some links are more valuable and some of them are less (for example even if they only have the map and openning hours for many museums the case is that no other site has this info, specially true for small museums), but you should not block this site as a spam site. -- 83.79.71.178 22:09, 2 February 2009 (UTC)
Please provide one example of a valuable link here (just omit the "http://") and tell me for which wikipedias (de, en, es, ...) and which articles you consider the link as valuable. -- seth 13:11, 3 February 2009 (UTC)
I can add one example I find interesting. In the page of the wax museums in the spanish wikipedia (http://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Museo_de_cera) there is a mention to the Madrid wax museum and the Barcelona wax museum, but there is no information about prices, map, or what is inside this museums, also there is no page for these museums in the wikipedia and no link to the official web (I don't think there is an official web for any of these museums anyway), but there is a link to muselius (www.muselius.com/spain/barcelona/museo-de-cera-de-barcelona/) and it has useful information.
Another example: the Picasso museum in Malaga. I found the wikipedia (es) entry. There is no practical information, and the official website it's a flash website, impossible to navigate for me (I believe it does not work on my computer), but there is a link to muselius (www.muselius.com/spain/malaga/museo-picasso-de-malaga) and there I could even find the phone number and call them to book a group visit with my pupils (I teach in a public school). So, for me there is some value on this site, and I would like to add links to museums where I find it adds value and also I'll continue adding information to this site, which now has at least for Spain the biggest collection of museums on the web. -- 193.142.125.1 14:30, 3 February 2009 (UTC)
There are official sites like http://www.museoceramadrid.com and http://www.museocerabcn.com which seem to be more up-to-date, for the information there differs from the information provided at muselius.com.
If you want to place links in the spanish wikipedia only, then I recommend you to ask for whitelisting at es:MediaWiki talk:Spam-whitelist. But as I've explained, at least in the spanish wikipedia-irc-channel they said that those links are not welcome. -- seth 10:11, 4 February 2009 (UTC)

I think this is Declined Declined  — Mike.lifeguard | @en.wb 22:00, 5 February 2009 (UTC)

cypress.com



Spammers


























See WikiProject Spam item (permanent link). MER-C 12:23, 3 February 2009 (UTC)

Added Added  — Mike.lifeguard | @en.wb 03:02, 4 February 2009 (UTC)
Cypress Semiconductor is a giant high tech company. I think we should expect requests from established editors on various projects to whitelist individual cypress.com pages. --A. B. (talk) 05:28, 4 February 2009 (UTC)
Yep, there may be need to remove it. However, this linking is inappropriate, so for now...  — Mike.lifeguard | @en.wb 22:07, 5 February 2009 (UTC)

b23.ru



Russian url shortener. Track13 17:07, 11 February 2009 (UTC)

Added Addedvvv 18:15, 11 February 2009 (UTC)

Vcode Infosystems

Investigation initially triggered by User:COIBot/XWiki/topindianjobs.com.

VCode Infosystems is a website developer and SEO firm with offices in Kerala, India and Missouri, USA. The IPs involved traceroute to Missouri and India (near Kerala)

Accounts




















































































Google Adsense IDs: 2309744757062224, 6598111142537192


Definitely spammed in the past:





















  • Google Adsense ID: 3879118524909257
  • Not registered to Vcode but apparently related to it[2][3][4]


Registered to someone in Florida[http://whois.domaintools.com/ilovegsh.com} but spammed by someone also spamming seoinseo.com
redirects to :



Related domains











































































Possibly related domains


  • Google Adsense ID: 0628455602126398











VCode clients

Spammed in the past:





  • Teachingsolutions.org - see separate entry below


Not spammed as far was we know:























  • Links on en.wikipedia appear to have been legitimately added