Talk:Spam blacklist/Archives/2012-05

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Warning! Please do not post any new comments on this page. This is a discussion archive first created on 01 May 2012, although the comments contained were likely posted before and after this date. See current discussion or the archives index.

Contents

Proposed additions [edit]

Symbol comment vote.svg This section is for completed requests that a website be blacklisted

GreenWorld (BVI) WP:SOCK Spamming [edit]

Google Analytics ID: UA-23084407 - (Track - Report - reverseinternet.com)






See WikiProject Spam Item


Cross wiki spamming

. Thanks, --Hu12 (talk) 03:09, 4 May 2012 (UTC)

Added Added. --EdBever (talk) 06:21, 4 May 2012 (UTC)

j.gs [edit]



Alias of URL shortener adf.ly, see e.g. [1]. MER-C (talk) 11:40, 4 May 2012 (UTC)

Added Added. --Pmlineditor (t · c · l) 11:45, 4 May 2012 (UTC)

hat spam [edit]















Added Addedbillinghurst sDrewth 14:25, 5 May 2012 (UTC)

Vacationa.info [edit]



Persistent crosswiki spammer that keeps changing domains as we blacklist the old ones. See SRG#Global lock for Bravaograda. Jafeluv (talk) 07:24, 7 May 2012 (UTC)

Added Added Snowolf How can I help? 07:27, 7 May 2012 (UTC)

smallsibu.miniban.cn [edit]



. Thanks, --Hu12 (talk) 19:37, 12 May 2012 (UTC)

Added Added. --Trijnsteltalk 19:44, 12 May 2012 (UTC)

Travel spam [edit]





billinghurst sDrewth 09:07, 13 May 2012 (UTC)
Added Addedbillinghurst sDrewth 09:08, 13 May 2012 (UTC)

greekfeta.com [edit]








MER-C (talk) 03:57, 22 May 2012 (UTC)

Added Added. --Courcelles 05:05, 22 May 2012 (UTC)

Rugby spam [edit]





Courcelles 05:06, 22 May 2012 (UTC)

Added Added. --Courcelles 05:07, 22 May 2012 (UTC)

lacina.net [edit]



See WikiProject Spam Item

Thanks. --Hu12 (talk) 02:01, 25 May 2012 (UTC)

Added Added. They sell photos, this is commercial spam. --EdBever (talk) 09:44, 25 May 2012 (UTC)

Multiple PC KEEPER stuff [edit]







Three different urls, all trying to sell/get you to install the same product, shouldn't be linked anywhere on wikimedia I'd say, no affilliation with the official website (http://pckeeper.zeobit.com/ I think) so adding. Snowolf How can I help? 01:38, 28 May 2012 (UTC)

Added Added Snowolf How can I help? 01:39, 28 May 2012 (UTC)

More fake PC KEEPER [edit]



These are actually spoofing off a legit software, and likely malware. Keep an eye out and add to the blacklist if found. Snowolf How can I help? 01:42, 28 May 2012 (UTC)

Added Added Snowolf How can I help? 01:43, 28 May 2012 (UTC)

More fake PC keeper [edit]

A lookup provides these websites that are very likely owned by the same spammer:















EdBever (talk) 18:06, 28 May 2012 (UTC)

Added Added. --EdBever (talk) 18:07, 28 May 2012 (UTC)
Comment Comment this appears to be an affiliate-link spammer[3]. If this continues we should seriously consider blacklisting zeobit.com. EdBever (talk) 19:21, 28 May 2012 (UTC)


Proposed removals [edit]

Symbol comment vote.svg This section is for archiving proposals that a website be unlisted.

gangland.viviti.com [edit]





is there anyone who will help me to remove from the list gangland.viviti.com. it is used as the source number 6 in this article w:en:East_Nashville_Crips, and because of the filter, I can not even translate the article from the English! thanks in advance--80.161.143.239 19:37, 26 April 2012 (UTC)

A couple of things. (enWP hat) The link in itself is a blog article and may not meet the citation standard of enWP, so you should consider whether the link itself may be better to be removed, though that is a local decision. (meta hat) The whole TLD seems like it has been renamed, which makes this block in this form redundant, and I would suspect that we will be looking to how we now manage jigsy.com and its use, misuse and abuse at a future point. — billinghurst sDrewth 23:08, 26 April 2012 (UTC)
Declined Declined after no further discussion from applicant — billinghurst sDrewth 14:55, 5 May 2012 (UTC)

alevi.com [edit]



I would suggest to unblock this URL, as it is the official website of the w:Alevi Community in Germany. It certainly is not connected to spaming. I saw the report and the spam entries, they look like intentional spaming just for the purpose of blacklisting the site. Knowing that Alevi people are often being opressed by other religious groups I suspect this was some kind of false flag spaming.

Removed Removed It was problematic in addition with other links in 2009, though looking at the site itself it would seem reasonable to have sites look to link t it, and if the original spammer comes back then the other links that were spammed will still prohibit such spamming. If it again becomes a problematic link then we caan look at it afresh. — billinghurst sDrewth 11:24, 10 May 2012 (UTC)

glutenfreehotelsguide.com [edit]



I have no idea why this website is blocked. The website lists hotel all over the world that can serve gluten free food and can be an external link to the Gluten Free Diet page. Thank you.The preceding unsigned comment was added by 93.172.136.24 (talk • contribs) .

Presumably because it was added xwiki, and the additions were considered outside of the guidelines for link addition. See report within the template. I wouldn't be inclined at this time to remove the block. — billinghurst sDrewth 13:39, 23 April 2012 (UTC)
Declined Declined. Just adding the template to formalize the decision. --Pmlineditor (t · c · l) 17:54, 13 May 2012 (UTC)

360cities.net [edit]



Hi there, I'd like to propose to remove said domain from the blacklist. This site, which allows sharing of 360 deg panoramic images, was blacklisted [discussion here] because their help pages invited their own users to add links to panoramic images to wikipedia articles (and potentially increase their ad revenues). While this potential conflict of interest cannot be change without destroying their ad revenue (upon which they must rely), the criticised help page ( help.360cities.net/wikipedia/how-to-behave-on-wikipedia ) has since been changed and formulated in a much more conscious way. In any case, I think it is sad that these wonderful images cannot be linked to. Disclaimer: I am a photographer myself and registered over there. El floz (talk) 03:51, 15 May 2012 (UTC)

Give me an example of where (which article) it would be useful.--Jasper Deng (talk) 03:56, 15 May 2012 (UTC)
Well, there are thousands of panoramas that could go along with thousands of articles. Just to pick one random example: article, panorama: www . 360cities . net/image/upper-antelope-canyon (spam filter even blocking posting links here ...).El floz (talk) 04:04, 15 May 2012 (UTC)
You realize that help.360cities.net/wikipedia/how-to-behave-on-wikipedia is still a plain invitation to spam the links to Wikipedia, don't you? And it does not change the fact that the link was spammed. Links to a picture of a panorama does not significantly improve the page, and actually images like a panorama can be uploaded to commons, and be used to improve pages throughout the mediawiki projects (if you are a photographer, realize that you do have an account on commons where you can contribute your work). delisting - Declined Declined. --Dirk Beetstra T C (en: U, T) 10:10, 20 May 2012 (UTC)

gportal.hu [edit]



Hello, I noticed that many web sites of Hungarian villages cannot be mentioned in infoboxes on French Wikipedia, though they are mentioned on Hungarian Wikipedia. The domain is a free web hosting service that is used a lot by small Hungarian communities like small towns and villages. Hungarian Wikipedia links to it almost a thousand times, it is white-listed there and there do not seem to be any problems. The last problems mentioned here were in 2008. Could the blacklisting be removed? Oliv0 (talk) 16:27, 19 May 2012 (UTC)

Removed Removed There are 822 links on 3 projects. (as of today) seems a reasonable enough reason to remove. — billinghurst sDrewth 02:40, 20 May 2012 (UTC)

Troubleshooting and problems [edit]

Symbol comment vote.svg This section is for archiving Troubleshooting and problems.

Discussion [edit]

Symbol comment vote.svg This section is for archiving Discussions.