Meta:WMF Support and Safety

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Translate this page; This page contains changes which are not marked for translation.

Other languages:
English • ‎español • ‎Bahasa Indonesia • ‎italiano • ‎日本語 • ‎português • ‎português do Brasil • ‎中文
Policies and guidelines WMF Support and Safety
This page provides information on the "WMF Support and Safety" (wmf-supportsafety) group on Meta.

The WMF Support and Safety group was created to allow members of the Wikimedia Foundation Support and Safety team to lock accounts, globally block IPs, rename users and change user rights globally while ensuring it is all centrally logged on Meta instead of having the ability to do it globally via a global group.

Rights[edit]

This usergroup gives a user the following rights:

Right Description Reason
userrights

Allow the user to change any user rights.

This right used to be a global "Staff" right but is now being limited only to Support & Safety staff and only to be done from meta. This allows them to give and remove rights for staff accounts as needed as well as the rare removals for Trust & Safety issues or banned users.

centralauth-lock

Allows users to lock or unlock global account.

This allows the staff member to lock accounts when they are no longer with staff or need to be locked for other official reasons such as global bans, Trust & Safety issues or legal concerns. It will also allow them to unlock both to fix mistakes or for when the concern is alleviated. It is being moved to a local meta right to allow it to be logged on meta exclusively.

userrights-interwiki

Allows users to change userrights crosswiki from meta.

This allows the staff member to change userrights on other wikis from meta to allow it to be centrally logged for better, central, transparency instead of having it spread out across small wikis.

globalblock

Allows users to globally block IPs from meta

This allows the staff member to block IPs globally for Trust & Safety or legal reasons and to do so only from Meta for better logging and transparency.

centralauth-rename

Allows users to rename global users from meta.

This allows the staff member to globally rename users from meta, usually for staff account renames or the rare abusive name that is unable to be hid that is found during their work.

Members[edit]