Talk:WMDE Technical Wishes/Rollback

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Feedback[edit]

  • This is a terrible idea. Stop bloating the preferences for everybody, especially with a feature that nobody wants. This whole thing is just a German Wikipedia problem caused by the German Wikipedia giving rollback permissions to thousands of unwitting users, so make it a configuration setting to enable it only on the German Wikipedia (or other wikis which ask for it). For all the others, don't add this new unrequested feature, with or without a preference. For years we've been trying to simplify and streamline the MediaWiki interface to help its usability, it's astonishing when development resources are spent to reduce usability. --Nemo 11:19, 16 July 2018 (UTC)
    Noto Emoji KitKat 1f62e.svg
    The current decision appears to be meant as a peaceful compromise between the different opinions. Criticism of the general idea has been voiced before, and was useful and welcome in the feedback round -- but it might be a good idea to drop the stick now that a compromise has been decided on. Disclosure: I have voted against the feature in the feedback round. for the same reasons as you.. ToBeFree (talk) 14:46, 16 July 2018 (UTC)
    Update: I originally wrote "for the same reasons as you", but I was referring to the technical criticism only. I have now linked my original vote for reference. ToBeFree (talk) 16:59, 21 July 2018 (UTC)
  • Actually, I quite like this idea; I think the updated proposal neatly addresses my concerns from the previous one, and I would now like to see this happen. Confirmation dialogs as an opt-in seems like a useful thing to me (I've already written a JS user script that does this), and since it'll be opt-in in places outside of dewiki, I can't see any harm that would come of it. The fact that I, and probably many others, have already written or used scripts that do this point to its utility, and also the ease of development, and since it's opt-in, I don't see any downsides. Thanks for addressing the concerns from the first proposal! Writ Keeper (talk) 14:23, 16 July 2018 (UTC)
  • If dewiki people don't use rollback that much and complains a lot, I think the way dewiki is handling rollback is the problem to solve here. (Yup, can be useful for those like sysop... but not the point here.) Removing rollback from dewiki 'editor' and granting to those who needs it is probably the best idea for dewiki users. — regards, Revi 20:25, 16 July 2018 (UTC)
  • Hello, you said "The confirmation will be in JavaScript.". Would it be possible to have a confirmation page in a no-js fallback, and to handle cases where scripts are not yet loaded, exactly like how Thanks system works ? --Framawiki (talk) 19:13, 18 July 2018 (UTC)
  • @Framawiki: I'm sorry for replying so late. Yes, it seems this would be possible. We'll keep it on our radar. Thanks for your feedback! -- Best, Johanna Strodt (WMDE) (talk) 09:05, 1 August 2018 (UTC)
  • @Ammarpad: Oh, thanks a lot for this notice! I thought I had avoided this by splitting the ping template into several separate ones. But if you haven't been pinged, I assume no one has. I just did the pings again. Did you receive a notification this time? -- Best, Johanna Strodt (WMDE) (talk) 10:01, 29 March 2019 (UTC)
  • @Johanna Strodt (WMDE): Yes. I got pinged now. The limitation is enforced per signature, so it doesn't matter whether you use single template or grouped users using several templates. –Ammarpad (talk) 10:14, 29 March 2019 (UTC)
  • Could this be made into a global preference? Eg, if stewards, global rollbacks, or etc want to use the preference, but don't want to have to enable it on every wiki. --Terra  (talk) 13:20, 29 March 2019 (UTC)
  • @TerraCodes: I'll ask if that's possible. Do you have global rollback rights yourself? I personally would have guessed that global rollbackers would prefer not to have the confirmation prompt (but I can of course be wrong). So I'd love to hear your experiences. -- Best, Johanna Strodt (WMDE) (talk) 14:17, 29 March 2019 (UTC)
  • @Johanna Strodt (WMDE): Nah, I'm not a global rollback, was just using the group as an example of a group that has rollback on more than a few wiki. --Terra  (talk) 14:19, 29 March 2019 (UTC)
  • It is available in global preferences. --Wargo (talk) 14:52, 29 March 2019 (UTC)
  • Huh it wasn't there when I wrote the first message, but its there now. --Terra  (talk) 03:22, 30 March 2019 (UTC)
  • @Wargo: Thanks! -- 09:30, 3 April 2019 (UTC)

Ajax[edit]

I think rollbacking from Recent Changes and other lists should be in AJAX. --Wargo (talk) 17:11, 2 April 2019 (UTC)

@Wargo: Using AJAX for rollbacks on list pages would be a new wish. You could submit it, for instance, to the next Community Wishlist Survey by Community_Tech. -- Best, Johanna Strodt (WMDE) (talk) 09:29, 3 April 2019 (UTC)
No, this applies only on rollbacks with this new confirmation. With confirmation disabled sure users just can (could) open this link in new window, currently they need to switch to that window and confirm message. --Wargo (talk) 09:38, 3 April 2019 (UTC)
I second this. Nobody wants to leave the recent changes just to do a rollback, it should really happen asynchronously. Matěj Suchánek (talk) 15:06, 9 April 2019 (UTC)

I hope this idea is not proceeding on all wikis. It's entirely inappropriate to bloat MediaWiki and reduce usability for most users just to fix a single-wiki configuration problem. Nemo 15:33, 9 April 2019 (UTC)


@Wargo and Matěj Suchánek: Hello, it's been a while since your last comment. Still I want to make sure I'm understanding the wish here correctly:

  • Is it possible that the problem you're describing only affects people who have JavaScript disabled? I'm asking because rollbacks do happen on the same page currently. Unless you have JavaScript disabled, there is no need to open a new window. If there's a special workflow you use that needs a separate window, it would help if you could describe it.
  • The problem you're describing only affects people who have the confirmation prompt enabled, right? On most wikis, the confirmation prompt is turned off for everyone by default. Have you enabled the confirmation?
  • So, to sum it up: It's not entirely clear to me right now why rollbacking from list pages should be in AJAX. I hope you can help by providing some more context.

Thanks for clarifying! -- Johanna Strodt (WMDE) (talk) 10:42, 6 November 2019 (UTC)

I was actually describing a possible improvement to the rollback workflow in general. Suppose you are on the recent changes page. You see an edit to be quickly reverted. You click [rollback], confirm and are redirected to "Rollback done" screen, ie. have to leave the recent changes page. So unless you really want this, it isn't true that there is no need to open a new window. One possible workaround is using Ctrl+Left mouse button or just Middle mouse button, which only works (as I have just tested) without the new confirmation prompt for rollback action. Then you have the confirmation window open in a new tab (which you will eventually have to close). If you go through the history of phab:T88044 (task basically about what I'm describing), you will see this was already implemented and was working for a few hours (before undoing this change). An argument against was that if you accidentally hit the rollback, you are more likely to overlook it. With this confirmation, the risk could be reduced. --Matěj Suchánek (talk) 09:25, 7 November 2019 (UTC)
@Matěj Suchánek: Thanks for taking the time to explain this. I have created a ticket for this suggestion: phab:T237915, so we have it on our radar if we work on this feature again. But please note that we're currently not planning to do so. -- Best, Johanna Strodt (WMDE) (talk) 08:17, 11 November 2019 (UTC)