Grants:APG/Proposals/Community/Review

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Translate this page; This page contains changes which are not marked for translation.

Welcome to the community review for 2014-2015 Round 1 of the FDC's annual plan grant process!

We are glad that you are here.

During this community review period (1 October - 31 October 2014), the Funds Dissemination Committee invites you to review any or all submitted proposals for this round by examining how they aim to use Wikimedia donation money to further the movement priorities. A list of these proposals follows. You are welcome to engage with other community members, FDC staff, or Wikimedia organizations (also called "entities") in on-wiki discussions about any proposal.

These proposals come from Wikimedia organizations that are requesting Wikimedia movement funds to implement their annual plans. While some proposals are lengthy, all proposals have an overview section that outlines the basic components of each request and the total amount requested in US dollars.

After reviewing a proposal, please post your comments and questions on the Discussion page of the proposal. You can post questions and feedback in your own language, not just in English.

As you read the proposal, you may want to consider some of these questions:

  • What experience does the organization have that will enable it to implement the proposal?
  • How realistic are the goals and intentions of the proposal?
  • How has the community been involved? If this proposal is successful, how will it affect the community?
  • What impact will the proposed programs have?
  • What are the areas of work you are most excited about? Which areas sound less promising?
  • Do you need more information after reading the proposal?

The community's comments and questions help the FDC to make decisions. Your comments and questions are read and reviewed by FDC Staff before FDC Staff compose Staff Proposal Assessments and are also considered directly by the FDC during deliberations. Community comments are essential to review proposals effectively. We expect that the Wikimedia organizations that have submitted these proposals will be able to respond to your comments and questions.

See more about community participation

Proposals for review[edit]

Amical Wikimedia — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$108,000.

Wikimedia Argentina — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$214,000.

Wikimedia CH — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$545,000.

Wikimedia Deutschland e.V. — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$1,576,000.

Wikimedia Eesti — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$83,000.

Wikimedia Israel — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$268,000.

Wikimedia Nederland — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$499,000.

Wikimedia Serbia — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$136,000.

Wikimedia Sverige — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$366,000.

Wikimedia UK — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$672,000.

Wikimedia Österreich — Proposal form — Amount requested: ~$315,000.


See more about the Funds Dissemination Committee and Annual Plan Grants

Feedback on proposals[edit]

Having read several of the proposals and a lot of the discussion I think it is not possible to judge from frog-view how the money is best spent by allocating it on these proposals. Assuming that WKF has a clear goal, it seems to me, that a very small group (3-7 heads) of highly knowledgeable persons (who know what's going on in which country and are able to think globally and stratetically should work together to formulate a strategy for the next 3-8 years. Then decide how the funds have to be distributed, to best further that strategy. IF a country has a highly motivated team with good projects furthering WKF's goal it is not important what language they speak and how large the country is, nor how much is spent within the country and how much is collected there! What do we want to achieve? how do we get there with least time and money? Bonu (talk) 17:06, 22 October 2014 (UTC)

Agree It is very challenging for me to discern which projects are most deserving. I think that countries with high english or mandarin penetration should have less funding towards native language wikis as language homogenisation increases globally. Otherwise I would like to see the best investment for posterity.

I think that it would be more useful to allocate certain amount for the benefits of the volunteers who are also struggling and are trying to improve certain projects that require consistent attention such as the translations projects and/or research publications. Geopoet (talk)

My opinion, for what it's worth, is that the funds should not be spent on already well developed wiki projects in priviledged nations. The first priority has to be the long term survival of wikipedia project as a whole (infrastructure, hosting, staying free of corporate patronage, etc), followed by projects targeting those who currenty don't have easy access to encyclopedic information relevant to them. 193.113.135.111 14:42, 21 October 2014 (UTC)

As others have said, use money to pay for servers and related maintenance. If there is excess money (hurray!), use it to pay for a subsequent year’s servers and related maintenance. JDAWiseman (talk) 21:03, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

I'm with JDAWiseman and 193.113.135.111, this money should go towards keeping Wikipedia up and independent. Zekesonxx (talk) 16:04, 21 October 2014 (UTC)
I was expecting that the money requested is used only for server operation and extension. Basically a means that these recurring costs can be paid without advertisements or commercial investors. I cannot find a "proposal" for this. This makes me feel that there was no technical need for my donation in the first place.--Staugsauber (talk) 19:50, 21 October 2014 (UTC)

By giving grants through such discussions, the grants will go to: 1. the one who can voice their point of view the loudest or 2. a developed country where majority of the users come from.

So, we cannot have a consensus on common grounds where everyone concerned is satisfied with the decisions made.

Instead, let Wikipedia grow organically, on its own and divert the six million dollars to increasing server capacity and day-to-day maintenance of the site. If there is any funds that are left, roll them over to the next year. VedantMadane (talk) 15:52, 20 October 2014 (UTC)


All these proposals are from the developed countries with comparatively much higher internet penetration and wikipedia presence (of their cities and topics). To help spread the wikipedia, all of these proposals must be REJECTED and the funds must be instead released to entities in countries where there is less internet density i.e. Asia, India, China, Africa and Latin America e.g. run campaign to educate school and university kids there on how to update wikipedia and create NEW wikipages on things that are important in their communities but do not yet exist on wikipedia. Currently, wikipedia is more like repository of knowledge of the western world (specially when it comes to the cities, places, history and location-culture-specific topics).
Thanks.
Vdhillon (talk) 13:33, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

It will be a little difficult to use funds for Wikipedia in China, where it is censored...--Laberkiste (talk) 15:50, 19 October 2014 (UTC)
I agree with the above. All large Wikimedia projects should be self-sustaining. For instance: the German Wikipedia requests 25% of the $6 million, but they should get 0%. There was $1 million donated to Wikimedia Fördergesellschaft and they should use that alone without requesting additional monies from the FDC. English should also be self-sustaining, covering the U.S., U.K., etc. groups. The languages receiving this funding should be smaller projects representing relatively widespread languages which do not have large Wikimedia presences and therefore do not receive many donations. Some good places to start might be Mandarin, Hindi, Bengali, Thai, and other widely spoken Asian languages that represent economies that are not yet post-industrial in nature. Omnibus (talk) 14:00, 19 October 2014 (UTC)
I'm not sure how serious the proposal was, but IF the major Wikipedias should be self-sustaining, that should be a process spanning over a few years instead of suddenly saying "You're on your own" without a warning. /abbedabbtalk 16:13, 19 October 2014 (UTC)
to the extent the chapters are doing things the WMF wants to be done, the WMF might want to fund them, or they might not get done. if you force the chapters to get grants from other funders, then your "influence" with them will be 0, equal to your funding. i've found that you get better results with a kind word and a check, than with just a kind word. i find a profound ignorance of non-profit finance among the community; it's unclear to me what the benefit of this feedback is. we need continuity of organizations, and to stop ideological battles. Slowking4 (talk) 16:46, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

I believe Wikipedia's core mission is to remove ignorance. And I believe that terrorism is caused not by religion but by lack of education. Therefore Wikipedia should incline to develop itself in countries oppressed by war and prejudice. I believe that investing in free access to information and knowledge will guide us into an all-accepting world culture guided by wisdom. By access to information I mean only to such unbiased and objective facts that are allowed by Wikipedia.
Kildwyke (talk) 15:00, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

I would like to lend my support to that which was said by Vdhillon and Omnibus. Interlaker (talk) 17:24, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

Many of these proposals seem like a waste of time. Some involve using traditional forms of marketing to promote the projects when all marketing should be online. Others talk about attracting more contributors when they already have huge numbers. One, the Estonian Wikipedia proposal I'm unsure about as in my experience the vast majority of Estonian-speaking Estonians use the English Wikipedia by default because of the high degree of English language knowledge in the country and the greater depth of the English project. Why are we discussing this? Surely the project with the greater reach will more likely win? Spend the money on server costs and a way of simplifying the Wikitext mess - that's what's stopping people from contributing.--Xania (talk) 17:53, 19 October 2014 (UTC)
To contribute to other languages, people worldwide must learn other languages. Not one single high school in the US teaches a lesser-known language, like Estonian language. Two-year colleges ("community colleges" in the US) offer several languages, not many or all. Four-year colleges/universities in the US offer a few or several languages. The only way to learn Hebrew is attending a Jewish college/university. To learn other languages, a lot of effort is needed. Either a competent teacher with well-spoken language or studying abroad is needed, but either requires a lot of money. Also, which countries accept American dollar for currency trade? How is money paid: in Euros or in Russian rubles? --George Ho (talk) 19:35, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

I agree with the above opinions on that specific language projects, at least major ones, should be self-sustained and our money donated to (global) Wikipedia must be spent on solving overall infrastructure problems and not given out to a specific language's community. Wikipedia servers are slow, Wikipedia markup languages are a mess, Wikipedia's software is buggy, Wikipedia's editing facilities are buggy, slow, and inconvenient, Wikipedia's rendering engine is buggy, Wikipedia lacks research, presentation, and visualization tools -- here is where the global community could benefit from the use of funding: on the core infrastructure and underlying software. Gelbukh (talk) 19:43, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

An exception from the above (here I agree with Kildwyke) is to help to initiate or consolidate Wikipedia communities in countries most suffering from lack of education (and thus most dangerous to others: education is the best weapon against terrorism). Gelbukh (talk) 19:43, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

As to developed specific language communities, Wikipedia Foundation should help them to raise their own funding campaigns: the users should be given an option to donate (perhaps, in percentages) to a specific Wikipedia project OR to the Wikimedia Foundation to be used on the software and infrastructure: say, one would donate 40% to Estonian Wikipedia and 60% to Wikipedia infrastructure. With this, major projects would be self-sustained (and probably there will be many more people willing to donate to Estonian Wikipedia than those who now donate to Wikipedia "in general"). Wikimedia Foundation could still choose to support incipient projects (minor languages in culturally endangered countries). Gelbukh (talk) 19:43, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

I agree with the comments above, these are largely all a waste of time. Donations should be used to improve content and access, forget advertising. We need experts at this point, not kids still learning how to add brackets. As far as I'm concerned, staff should stop focusing on the "paid advocacy" witch hunt (we get it, evil bias, whargarbble), and use this fortune to hire neutral online entities to translate pages, with an urgency. We also need to send a horde of neutral, motivated editors to reform an article rescue squad. Hundreds of salvageable pages are deleted every day because a few inexperienced editors thought they "seemed like advertising," when all that was needed were five minutes of rewording and scrubbing. And the pages most susceptible to "disappearing"? English pages about non-English topics, since the editors doing the deleting don't bother to find backing research in other languages. In case I haven't been clear so far, HIRE TRANSLATORS AND DO REAL TANGIBLE IMPROVEMENT OF CONTENT. HIRE A #4%ING ARMY IF YOU NEED TO. Looking at this community and seeing how many thousands are spent on "research" and bickering over logistics, and how little is spent on content, it's frankly disgusting and embarrassing. Earflaps (talk) 20:20, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

I agree with a lot of what is posted here. Update the servers, interface and rendering, translate more pages, make connections with more expert communities. Just one thought, how about duolingo? I don't know about their prices, but they have a similar mission focused on language learning and translation. How about teaming up with other organizations that want to spread knowledge, like one of the dozens of ask a scientist programs in the US? I think we really need to look at the global mission, and not just fund already mostly developed local missions around the world, especially if they are not doing anything innovative. HeroTrapp (talk) 21:44, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

The Wikipedia Arabic community has been prevented from forming a chapter on a technicality for years, and as a result we never benefit from this kind of initiative. Internet use is increasing in the Arab world and Wikipedia is frankly missing out.--عبد المؤمن (talk) 23:12, 19 October 2014 (UTC)

To be honest, I am quite afraid that many of those money will be wasted and the results of those above projects can't be counted. If I would be WMF, I would do the following:
  • create a cultural magazine that publishes under Creative Commons it's text and photos. I am quite sure that it is not hard to find journalists who agree to post under CC license. For example a magazine that makes coverages of museums, monuments, culturally significant buildings, etc but also interviews and biographies of important historians, architects, writers, etc. I think it's doable by spending a modest amount each year (maximum $1 million). The articles and media published in the magazine will be used to add text into Wikipedia articles and it's photos will greatly enrich Wikimedia commons. Start such a magazine in any US state (say for example Washington), and then expand it to other states and then to other countries outside the US, even in the Arab countries. Try to find cultural funds, try to convince governments and businesses in those countries to fund the publication so the publication can grow and expand. Any country needs such cultural magazines and many countries don't have even one such publication. The publication can also attract funds by publishing commercial ads, which, for a magazine is quite ok. Some countries might have cultural funds that can be accessed for such an activity. The magazines in each country should be bilingual with all artilces in english/native language, so it's easier to keep in account their work. So it's easier to start such a magazine in a language that is hard to learn. They can make tops with the most important architects of that country in the 20th century and so on. Even as of today, I can't find such tops in my country, and I find that very frustrating. So the magazine can create lots of "robotic" tasks with such lists that are very important for the culture of that country - and for Wikipedia too. For example, if the most important architect of the country X is Y, then find the books about the person Y, and make a list with them. Now into my mind it pops the w:Observator Cultural publication, which is a literary publication in Romania and is very strong and abundant in information - it's a wealth of knowledge. It is sponsored by a lawyer company named w:ro:Mușat & Asociații. But I would very much like to have a Romanian publication that makes at least one coverage of another museum or important building per week and that is better structured into separate chapters (interviews/biographies/theatre etc).
* also I would start a project where a few photographers will be paid for taking photos for adding to Wikimedia commons: whatever photos are considered useful: animals, plants, buildings, villages, mountains, wildlife, etc. They can create incredibly wonderful thematic albums just like National Geographic or Nature or Discovery does. How much it costs to pay three photographers to start with? There are many articles where there are very few photos or none at all to chose from. Wikimedia should have at least one such photographer!
* Many government have funds for culture and they should be convinced by someone that it's good to sponsor such things - it's good for improving the country's education in the first place. That's how I would spend money and that's what I would try to do if I would be WMF. —  Ark25  (talk) 01:36, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

i agree with everything above, the proposals are a waste of resources. i propose the money goes to mediawiki to improve the framework powering wikipedia. it needs a plugin system that is 1 click to install plugins, needs a webmaster/admin/moderator interface, needs methods to insert arbitrary header information so people can easily insert google fonts, their own funky javascript, and external css such as bootstrap to make responsive mobile ready wikis. it needs at least 1 skin that is responsive & mobile ready by default. mediawiki needs a method to have paid content, it needs a method to have group restricted pages. it needs its links spaces converted from _ to - there are many many many little problems with the content management system. it needs to come hardened against spam out of the gate. it needs its caching documentation updated to show which method is preferred, it needs a system to prevent its documentation from regressing. plugins need example wiki sandboxes, and benchmarks to show performance hits, or improvements. it needs a full security audit. any fool can look at http://wikimediafoundation.org/wiki/Special:Version <--- this glaring security problem.... i guess you're running nginx, varnish, apache with mod_php 5.3.10, on mariadb 10, with a ton of plugins to give extra attack surface under ubuntu. (probably 12.04) instead of lighting this mountain of $$$ on fire on bs...... i propose you hire daniel robbins full time to work on these very real issues. 666threesixes666 (talk) 02:30, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

I similarly agree that small wikis, especially non-Wikipedias, need more help. I would like us to fund development of a tool for grant review, which shows the scope and language of each funded item. I will comment on the proposals separately on their own pages. Gryllida 05:05, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

If this was the case, Wikimedia India never got much of the money they asked for last year. Others got a lot, but WMIN did not. Let's be a bit realistic here. Developed regions will always get more money. ----Rsrikanth05 (talk) 07:10, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

Why is this about countries, organisations and languages? Am I the only person who was under the impression that my Wikipedia donations went towards server, networking and related infrastructure, running costs (ie electricity, bandwidth) and enough staff to keep aforementioned infrastructure running? Wikipedia donations should be about setting up the scenario and letting the public create the content, not about marketing Wikipedia to certain nations, languages, organisations. We print the book, people make the encyclopedia. Marketing and conferences shouldn't even come into it. Send the funds wherever Wikipedia needs more server/network capacity, and if there's any left over give it to a charity or save it for next year. 6 million dollars on conferences and leaflets? Shocking. Audigex (talk) 12:51, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

  • I'd like to second this motion. The server capacity is inadequate, crucial tools do not work properly forcing volunteer developers to spend progressively more of their private time to maintain them or quit altogether. The resignation of Magnus Manske (creator of CatScan2) is one fresh example. Money should be allocated to increase the capacity. --Deinocheirus (talk) 13:41, 20 October 2014 (UTC)
  • It seems there is little consensus for spending funds, other than to increase resources. I think increasing resources is very important and if it can be worked out, creating tools to help those who want to learn how to use Wikimedia projects would be good. Wpollard (talk) 05:58, 21 October 2014 (UTC)
  • These proposals are an example of how an organization becomes bureaucratic and bloated and has to invent ways to spend money on itself. What we have is innocent people making donations to "insure Wikipedia remains ad free" and "like a park of the mind" and then WMF spending their donations on auxiliary staff, conferences, meetings, travel, to enact grandiose plans that consistently fail to address or solve, its long term, fundamental problems: archaic appearance, HTML code editing system, loading speed, editor attrition, systemic bias, vandalism and the lack of quality control.--Keithbob (talk) 13:54, 21 October 2014 (UTC).
  • This last group of comments make the most sense to me. One major piece of information that is not in the proposal is why are these funds deemed available for spending? $6 million seems like a large amount of a lot of individual donations to throw up for some projects. Where is the perspective budget to help make sense of the larger budgetary decision?
I believe that Wikipedia should be self-sustaining within each region. This is like Democracy to me. People need to be ready to have it, built it, invest in it, fight for it, and own it. Just handing it to them seems out of place. I could see an initial set up in areas that are deemed ready for it, but then it needs to have a self-sustaining plan. There needs to be a demand in the market space, or one soon to follow an initial investment. Push-marketing can just be burning a lot of sacrificial giving. Roll the funds into next year, improve the infrastructure and tools, keep all of it ad free--these are the Wikipedia building blocks. Let the people do the rest just as they have been doing. Alrich44 (talk) 14:37, 21 October 2014 (UTC)
  • I have to agree with the comments above. If there are funds available the priorities should be:
    1. Making the hardware & software fit for purpose
    2. Inducting new users and encouraging them to stay and make constructive contributions
    3. Improving communications with the community
    4. - a long way behind, more sociological research. For example, a lot of research has been done already on #2. Wikimedia has itself seemed to regard this as a high priority, but has stood down its "Growth Team" that was working on this very area! - Noyster (talk) 12:14, 22 October 2014 (UTC)
  • I agree with Keithbob:"These proposals are an example of how an organization becomes bureaucratic and bloated and has to invent ways to spend money on itself." I also agree with Alrich44 and Noyster. Also with Audigex :"What is this about countries organizations and languages? 6 million dollars on conferences and leaflets? Shocking". Agreed.Boeotian333 (talk)

I am quite unhappy about these proposals. Here are the reasons:

  • (nearly) all proposals are from developed countries chapters. I am sure that they are able to raise these money on their own.
  • proposals from developing countries chapters are missing. I can see old or withdrawn proposals from India, Indonesia or Philippines, i think that in future WMF must give as much as possible methodological support to chapters like these, so they can complete their proposals.
  • lack of global overlap. Most of the proposals are targeted just to local communities, not to anything that may help all wiki editors and readers (WMD and its software development section is exception).
  • staff expenses are major part of budget. In most of proposals, staff expenses are 50%+ of proposal expenses. Is hiring staff in developed countries really the way, how WMF want to spend the money ?

--Jklamo (talk) 22:00, 22 October 2014 (UTC)

These proposals put future donations at risk[edit]

As someone who has donated annually to WMF for years, I assumed (apparently incorrectly) that the money was needed to run the servers, pay for the minimal staff needed to run the foundation, etc. To find out that there is US$6 million that you're now planning to disseminate, I'm absolutely amazed. A country and organization such as DE, UK, NL, IS, etc. should NOT need funds to sustain itself, and if it does, then the donations should come from that country. I agree that if there is extra money, it should be used in the following ways: 1) create a reserve fund for the ongoing maintenance and enhancement of the technology infrastructure necessary to run the wiki. I believe a 2-3 year reserve is required. 2) promote the dissemination of knowledge in the underserved regions (not necessarily on a country-by-country basis) of the planet. There have been a lot of comments above discussing terrorism and other results of poor education. If our mission is to educate and inform, then giving 25% of the money to Germany - one of the best educated countries on the planet - is contrary to our mission and purpose. If these proposals are funded, I shall not donate to WMF again. It's bad enough we waste valuable resources in the wiki maintaining pages of movie characters and fictitious anime, but to spend this kind of money in first-world countries is not only a shame, but borders on unethical. Vertium (talk) 17:02, 21 October 2014 (UTC)

You don't seem to understand that WMF get far more money from the rich European countries than is disseminated back to them. Under the current mechanism almost all money donated globally goes to the the WMF, who then return some of it through these proposals. Johnbod (talk) 01:21, 22 October 2014 (UTC)
Good point Johnbod. Can you send provide some more informatino for us on this please? Also, this starts to make me wonder, is it possible that charities become inefficient at some point when donations far outweigh need?
This is a great article on how Wikipedia doesn't need your money at all and is (apparently) just hoarding as much as they can grab [1]. I'm glad that I've never had spare change to donate in the past because they don't need or deserve it. Some guy (talk) 19:05, 21 October 2014 (UTC)
I Agree that it is disconcerting that so much money is going to Wikipedias in rich countries. The Swiss are some of the richest people on the planet yet they're request is for more funds per-capita than anywhere else. That's disturbing and they should really be pressed to justify that kind of a request, especially if it's just going to go towards expanding their existing style of programs. That said, the money should go to rich countries in 2015 because that's where there are the most wikipedians and that's where the organizations which can effectively utilize the funds already exist. What needs to happen now is to make sure that a large amount of the money is used to build partnerships between the Wikipedias in rich countries and those in poor countries. Let the rich countries get the funding in 2015 but make it a requirement that they spend a large amount of it on developing poor country related projects or better yet, poor country wikipedia groups so that they can be the ones to apply for funding the next time around (2016/2017).Monopoly31121993 (talk) 21:38, 21 October 2014 (UTC)
$6 million for pet projects is really crazy. The donors will be very disappointed to learn that WMF misuses their donated money. The pop-up on Wikipeida (top ten website the the world) everytime someone tried to go to Wikipedia kept telling people that WMF needs to have funds to maintaining the systems. It tuned out, WMF doesn't need money after all. The donors will feel like they were scammed. WMF has $6 million to spend on some non-essential pet projects. The donors must wonder how much money WMF is getting this year and whether WMF is a financial responsible organization. It also leads to question the balance sheet of the organization, and compensations to executives and staff. By showing that WMF plans to spend a large amount of money on non-essential items, it could miscategorize WMF to be one of those American corporations with excess under the cover of non-profit. This jeopardizes the credibility of WMF because donors were led to believe that WMF is a lean organization with no excess and mostly functions by volunteers. This grants need to stop and WMF needs to put the money back to be used for future expenses of servers or infrastructure projects to maintain the contents. Z22 (talk) 12:24, 22 October 2014 (UTC)


Completely agree, I've always assumed that donations that I've made were going towards absolutely necessary expenses like server maintenance and staff salaries. I understand if there is a budget surplus, but if thats the case, I'd like that surplus to be invested in low risk ways to ensure future financial stability for wikipedia. BUEngineer (talk) 13:17, 22 October 2014 (EST)
Same here. My company has donated large amounts in the past. A reserve fund, better technology, protection from scrapers like Google, and most of all, adding more expert-authored content is really valuable. I find dozens of articles regularly severely lacking on deep and objective information. I will be far, far less likely to donate in the future if these funds are simply given to other rich countries without valid reasons. Even giving to the poorest countries is not the best idea necessarily, since it each situation is unique.
Um, yes. I found this page immediately after seeing a desperate plea from Jimmy Wales. "If only people the people reading this would donate, we wouldn't be forced to consider selling ads on Wikipedia." "Each year just enough people decide to give." I have had a recurring donation set up in the past, but I see now that WMF has way more money to spare than I do. Phew! I'm assuming the donation campaign will end soon too. --Refried (talk) 23:16, 22 October 2014 (UTC)

LSJbot Mods Dev[edit]

My vote: LSJbot-mod development grant for language articles such as Haitian Creole.[1] The "Haiti" page in that language speaks volumes in comparison to the English version. The rest, well, they need all the help they can get. #HaitiRelief? Twillisjr (talk) 18:55, 20 October 2014 (UTC).

WikiCup editing prize[edit]

I agree wholeheartedly with the comments above. The outreach programs of the chapters are important, but the "heart" of our project is technology, developers and editors. These three areas have not been growing fast enough over the last 5 years. I propose we make funds available ($1 million has a nice PR ring to it) as prize money for the winner of the 2015 WikiCup. Just think of the publicity that will generate. We need to thank our editors and a big prize is one way to let people know their worth (which many donors are keen to recgonize). Perhaps we could also run a WikiDevCup as well to thank the best volunteer developers. Oncenawhile (talk) 18:52, 20 October 2014 (UTC)

This is the best idea. Wikipedia should be rewarding our most valued editors. We need to expand our GA / A-class / FA content, not get new users to make more paltry nonsense stub articles.
That said, I can understand the arguments that first-world countries' efforts should be self-sustaining. I'd like to see the balance of where donations come from versus where they are dispersed. I don't take issue with the national chapters and I particularly support the efforts of the Germans and the Britons. I do not agree with propping up Wikipedia in minority languages like Catalan (or Welsh, Basque, Esperanto, etc). Our movement risks being hijacked by cultural partisans vainly trying to maintain a dying society at the expense of suckers donating money to keep the servers running. Chris Troutman (talk) 18:04, 21 October 2014 (UTC)

I subscribe to the above proposal that editors and article writers must be rewarded in the first place.Wikipedia must be organised on a firm footing as an organisation technology-wise and in human resources.Editors must be screened periodically and listed for future needs.A part of the donations must be kept as a reserve fund to sustain Wikipedia.There is no need to subsidise rich nations from this fund.22,oct,2014

need to improve TAMIL language[edit]

as tamil is one of the Classical language among many languages in the world so you will spend at-least 7% for developing this language in Wikipedia.as well as in the world among many peoples this is my suggestion . Vijayganesh.s1996 (talk) 17:34, 20 October 2014 (UTC)vijayganesh.s1996

Need to extend the use of Devanagari Script in Wikipedia[edit]

Wikipedia needs to upgrade the Devanagari script. Though English is a international language it is believed that the sample of words were derived from Sanskrit Devanagari script. For this I recommend that manager of Wikipedia's try to extend the use of Hindi and Nepali language so that most of the people might get the idea too. We should not give priority to only one language in the world but we should make each and every people of the world to know each and every language so that communication in between individuals will get better.Thus, it is my suggestion for disseminating the new fund for development of Devanagari script.Thank You,

Along with the previous suggestion about Tamil: the coverage of the languages of the subcontinent is sorely lacking. Hindi and Bengali are among the world's largest dozen languages, but are weakly represented, as well as the major languages Marathi, Urdu, Gujarati, Punjabi and the top four Dravidian languages. Other languages of the subcontinent deserve better treatment, and some are lacking any representation. TomS TDotO (talk) 08:02, 22 October 2014 (UTC)

Don't Encourage Commercials[edit]

I'd like to see no support at all given to any body that hosts advertisements, like WikiHow in the UK, a subsidiary of Wikimedia I believe. A long battle (remember the Spanish Fork!) was fought against the pollution of advertising, although it was suggested by Our Jimmy Himself. There's nothing wrong with advertising per se (or is there?), but it pollutes Wikipedia, which is as we proudlt boast, ad-free. JohnWheater (talk) 11:06, 21 October 2014 (UTC)

wikiHow is not a subsidiary of "Wikimedia". Legoktm (talk) 20:47, 21 October 2014 (UTC)

Address the Developing World by forming partnerships between rich countries and poor countries[edit]

I agree that the "Developing World" has been neglected on Wikipedia and that should be changed. I think radical change is dangerous though and it would be a shame to lose the support of people in rich countries when they're willing and able to help. The proposals here seem to be asking for help (and funds) for Wiki groups in rich countries and that's okay but they should also try to build links with Wikipedia communities in poorer/developing countries and not just in their home communities. Giving Switzerland's Wikipedia 1/2 a million dollars is not a problem (although it's more percapita than most places and it's a very rich country already) but at least part of that should go towards helping the Swiss (and all other rich country groups) establish links with the developing world or at least with Switzerland's population who have knowledge about and links to the developing world (e.g. immigrant populations within rich countries). The only way we'll fix the gap in Wikipedia coverage and not reproduce the same inequality that we see in today's global economic environment is by forming real partnerships between the active and organized wikipedia communities in rich countries and those expanding Wikipedia communities in poor countries. As far as I can see this is still missing from the current approaches provided here and that should be fixed right away. If the goal of the most progressive rich countries today is to provide 1% of their GDP in the form of aid to poor countries why doesn't Wikipedia provide 10% of all its funding to help poor countries develop wikipedia? Again, this could simply be done through partnerships and building networks in rich countries through their respective communities who have links to the developing world.Monopoly31121993 (talk) 21:20, 21 October 2014 (UTC)

General comment on this thread[edit]

FDC money basiclly support to vibrant communities in their effort to generates high-volume and and high-quality content. The content is what our readers enyoys, and the content is the reason for them to give donations. And after two years of FDC the imapct to create healthy creative community and high-quality content can now be demonstrated (universitey students creating top-of the-class articles, experts from institutions participating, technically advanced creation of aticles etc). And there is no rationale to see this funding (given by the Board) to be in competition with money going to product developement done by WMF.

Serbia being among the applicants is a good example that less rich countries is as able s richer ones to evolve a vibrant communty and create a viable chapter. We also find other being on this path, like Ukraine and Bangladesh.

So please understand this is not money meant to create communities but to support existing ones.

I can also give you comfort in you focus of less rich countries that both WMFR and WMSE and supporting acitivites in Africa to get communites started. And myslef I am in an early phase of an effort to creatse up to 100000 article on each of the 200 versions, which depends on a very qualified techical bacgroud support, which would had been unable for me to get without chapters and their technical experts. I have started on two languages other then my home verion, and in about six month will be able to do it on any version.Anders Wennersten (talk) 07:03, 22 October 2014 (UTC)

Anders Wennersten, I think you missed understood the points listed about. No one is saying getting university students to edit wikipedia is bad thing. People ARE saying that having only rich students edit is a bad thing and the current proposals hugely neglect engagement with the poorer countries, their language versions of wikipedia and content specific proposals which focus on developing countries. The examples of Serbia and Ukraine as poor countries is a very subjective argument (both have high HDI scores way above most places in the Middle East, South Asia, Central America or Africa). Anyway, my point above was that there are lots of people in rich countries who know about the developing/poor world and are even personally connected with people there. I agree that the funding should go to rich countries (for now) simply because they have the organizations to use the funds but that doesn't mean WP should be throwing 1/2 a million dollars at Switzerland without requiring them to at least spend 10% on aid work or work dedicated to improve Wikipedia for poor countries. If that doesn't happen then we can be almost certain that Wikipedia will simply expand and mirror global economic inequality in terms of it's coverage of poor vs. rich countries.Monopoly31121993 (talk) 08:30, 22 October 2014 (UTC)
About five years ago a discussion along the same lines took place in the Board. Brazil and India were then selected to try to see if proper funding to support comminities in these countries could be a model to work with. Unfortunaly both thse inittives failed to get the result wanted. And basically the core of the learning - you can not work with the "push" model to get something going, we must work with the "pull" model in order to get the results we all wish for. Meaning if ther exist a active good communityr there is much we can do to sopport it get even more productive. But if there is no active community, general funding can become counterproductive, and any tendency for contributers to feel they should get finiancial reward for contributing is found to not produce the type of communities we know will thrive. And both chapters and the other type of grants are in use to help finance specific intitives for good local inititves.Anders Wennersten (talk) 10:18, 22 October 2014 (UTC)
"any tendency for contributers to feel they should get finiancial reward for contributing is found to not produce the type of communities we know will thrive." No offense, but [citation needed]. Encyclopedia Brittanica wouldn't be very popular if all their income went to the editorial staff and the marketing department, and none went to writers. When people donate to Wikiepdia, it isn't out of gratefulness that someone is making pamphlets in Ukraine, or that Wiki's ten-year-old infrastructure still crawls along. It's out of gratefulness that the mob donated volunteer hours to make individual pages readable. If money is used intelligently, it can motivate experienced editors to actually fix real across-the-board content problems, which is "the problem" with any encyclopedia. The only problem of any import. Look at en:Organization for Transformative Works, for example. They're on their way to raising $70,000 for a small volunteer community with a few permanent staff members, and once they've met their overhead and supported their basic development projects, they actually dedicate money to preserving and archiving quality fan-created content. But hey, not thriving, right? Earflaps (talk) 10:58, 22 October 2014 (UTC)

Accountable projects, pretty please[edit]

Even though my comment can be seen as negative or critical, I do not agree with all the criticism above. If the money that I donate are used to improve Wikipedia, I very much agree with that. I don't only pay for servers and to keep Wikipedia add-free. I want a better Wikipedia, but I want to see concrete, accountable proposals and results, not fuzzy proposals like those above proposals.

I am very sorry to say this but goals like we are going to support community efforts to improve the working atmosphere on the Wikimedia projects, by providing training and coaching sound scary to me. They look too fuzzy and un-accountable. Please give money only to those projects that do something that can be measured - i.e. concrete results, like more articles and better quality of the articles. Before giving them money, ask them to do 5% or at least 2% or 1% of the job for free, and then check if you can measure if they did that percent of the work. And then give them 10% of the money they ask, and ask them to do 10% of the job. Then again, see if you can count if they really did 10% of the job. And then again, give them 20% or 30% of the money and so on until the 100% will be spent.

I suggest that the proposals should come with ideas like

  • "create articles (or stubs) for each commune in country X (or county Y), and add at least the following things into each article: a photo, an infobox with certain fields filled, an external link to the local council, and a list of books about that commune (if they exist)"
  • "translate the lists in the navbox w:Template:ISO 3166 into the language X" - there are many lists like that which are important and can improve Wikipedia in various languages.

 Ark25  (talk) 14:22, 22 October 2014 (UTC)

Is Wikimedia still losing editors? if so, what is the expertise of these editors? [2] Perhaps not paying directly, but somehow incentiving at a low level, more experts to really go deep into topics/areas, or even just moderating might be useful.

Public Access to Federal Court Documents - for free (like RECAP)[edit]

With the might that the Wikipedia/Wikimedia can bring to a project like making the records of our federal courts free to everyone and not be burdened by the Pacer System from the courts that charge 0.15 per page to access. There is so much pubic domain information that is behind a pay wall, which should be free and some money should be put to the effort of freeing these truly vital records to the public to make U.S. courts open to the world to see as our founders intended. Just a show of this as being a goal of Wikipedia/Wikimedia will open floodgates of money from individuals and organizations across the U.S. (Where the money is). Just give it a shot at some of the money, I would up my monthly donation if this were a goal of the site.

Increase in the volume of files to Wikimedia[edit]

Necessary to increase the ability to download large files in Wikimedia. Currently, you can download the file only 100 mega bytes, it is very small. Many books simply do not fit into the Wikimedia Foundation. Download them from other sites every time is extremely inconvenient. Wikimedia is a great opportunity to give a link to a specific page of this book, this is not possible on other sites. On good, should be allowed to download the halyards of 500 Mega Byte and better 1000 Mega Byte.Wlbw68 (talk) 09:08, 21 October 2014 (UTC)

It's hard, perhaps impossible, to fathom a book that couldn't fit into 100 megabytes. I have e-textbooks that are over a thousand pages long and take up 25 megabytes. If you have a book that takes up 100 megabytes, it was probably put together improperly. Some guy (talk) 19:16, 21 October 2014 (UTC)
I wrote and spoke about the books scanned, these books are very, very much on the Internet. I even had a book on a 1 gigabyte at that it is assembled correctly. Tell me, what I sense to write fiction? I am not for myself asking for money, but for the common and useful things. Give examples: [2] - 178 megabytes [3] - 769 megabytes [4] - 709 megabytes ........

And believe me, such a great variety of books.Wlbw68 (talk) 21:19, 21 October 2014 (UTC)

Hi Wlbw68, actually on Wikimedia Commons there are ways to upload very large files. As you can see on this page you can enable chunked uploads or request a server-side upload, see an example request here and a large file uploaded with this system here: Tabula_Peutingeriana-nc.tif (391 MB) -- CristianCantoro (talk) 01:49, 22 October 2014 (UTC)
Good health to you CristianCantoro. Here great difficulty downloading large files, neither for all browsers; this information is not available on the main page of each foreign-language versions of the Wikimedia Foundation; and even written about the fact that this program is experimental and is not working correctly. I would like to system administrators to allow more accessible and understandable for each foreign language section Wikimedia. With respect to you, Wlbw68 (talk) 10:01, 22 October 2014 (UTC).

Illustrations[edit]

An idea into the pot: either now or in the future Wikipedia may want to sponsor the creation of quality illustrations. Paying for content creation may be counter to the volunteer spirit of Wikimedia, but this must be weighed against the high value of illustrations and difficulty of generating quality illustrations for the majority of contributors. This may be a cost-effective approach to accelerating the long term improvement of Wikimedia in all languages. Dhatfield (talk) 18:19, 22 October 2014 (UTC)


I don't trust Wikipedia a little bit[edit]

They said free but i coudn't even add about that person as turkish or english. You also despise people as "insiginificant" or "kayda değer olamayan". Your editors deletes them quickly. Guidlines says people who make valuable works can be added. But how can they realize in 5 minutes whether if someone insignificant or not. I think its better you send this money Somali. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ula%C5%9F_%C3%96cal This page also cant be edit and forbidden by your workers. https://tr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ula%C5%9F_%C3%96cal

Dhatfield (talk) 18:19, 22 October 2014 (UTC)

==The funds

  1. http://news.discovery.com/tech/robotics/wikipedia-bot-writes-10000-articles-a-day-140715.htm
  2. http://gawker.com/5827835/wikipedia-is-slowly-dying