MediaWiki talk:Confirm purge
Clear the cache of this page?
Explanation: Cache-files are temporary copies of a page.
When you request a page on this wiki, then must the software each time again create from the source text a new page that can be send to your browser. That takes time and processor power. If many users each time again request the same page then it is not efficiently do that every time again.
Therefore the created pages are "cached", temporarily saved. When then more users request a page then the get not to see a page that is again "freshly" made from its source but the saved copie.
- Advantage: Much less load for the system and the page can be much faster displayed.
- Disadvantage: It is possible that you do not get the most recent version of that page to see. There can be made adaptations to that page been made that are not present in the copie that you get, the cached version.
Therefore you can wipe the cache here so you are sure that what you see is the most current version.
For the non-sysops; I you like to correct the text you can edit this version and can it be updated by a sysop. --Walter 12:54, 24 December 2005 (UTC)
Here's the version I added to the en en:MediaWiki:Confirm purge:
Cache-files are temporary copies of a page.
When you request a page here, the software creates from the source text each time a new page that can be sent to your browser. Because of technical limitations, the created pages are cached, or temporarily saved. Thus, when a user requests a page that has been viewed before, the saved copy will appear instead of the updated page.
Purging a page clears the cache and forces the most current version to appear.