InternetArchiveBot/Documentation/View activity log
The IABot Management Interface logs actions taken by users and gives you the option to view those logs, including the ability to filter logs by activity and/or user.
To apply log filters, select the options you want to view, and leave the rest unselected. Only the selected options will be shown in the log. You can add a username to the username field to narrow the activity down to a certain user.
To select multiple options, the easiest way is to hit Ctrl, (Cmd on macOS), and click the desired options. Select Search to apply the filter. To de-select an option, click on it while holding down the control key (command key on Mac).
Understanding a log entry
Log entries are sorted in descending order.
A log entry includes the following parts:
- The timestamp of the event, in UTC time
- The user account making the change. This can be a person manually changing an entry or other setting, or a bot making an edit through InternetArchiveBot.
- The change that was made. This can be any one of the filters in the boxes above.
- A summary of the changes made.
Here are the different state changes tracked through this log:
- Accepted the ToS: All users of InternetArchiveBot are required to agree to the Terms of Service before using the Management Interface. A log entry records when a user has accepted the Terms of Service.
- Declined the ToS: Any user that opted to decline the ToS will have a denial logged. Denying the ToS logs you out of the interface.
- Changed user permissions: Whenever any user changes another user’s permissions for a specific, it is logged under this category
- Changed global user permissions: Global user permissions apply across the entire Management Interface regardless of wiki selected. When a user has been granted new global user permissions, it is recorded as a log entry.
- Blocked a user: When a user has been blocked from using the Management Interface, it is recorded as a log entry.
- Unblocked a user: When a user has been unblocked from the Management Interface it is recorded as a log entry.
- Unblocked themselves: When a blocked user unblocks themselves from the Management Interface it is recorded as a log entry in this particular way.
- Reported a false positive: A false positive is defined as a URL that the bot has marked as dead, but is actually still alive and accessible. Whenever a user reports a false positive, it is logged under this category.
- Declined a false positive report: Once submitted, a false positive report sits in a queue. One option is that the report is rejected and the false positive database is not updated. When this happens it will be recorded as a log entry.
- Re-opened a false positive report: False positive reports that have been declined can be reopened. This event will be recorded as a log entry.
- Fixed a reported false positive: When a user on the Management Interface has addressed the issue of a false positive and the bot no longer sees the URL as dead, it is logged in this category.
- Changed the state of a URL[/Domain]: Entire domains, and individual URLs, can have the following attributes assigned to them:
- Whitelist: A URL or domain that is “whitelisted” will be permanently treated as though it is available on the open web in spite of the bot’s ability to load the resource. The URL will not be scanned. If the domain is whitelisted, the individual URLs can only be whitelisted or blacklisted.
- Blacklist: A URL or domain that is “blacklisted” will be permanently treated as unavailable. The URL will not be scanned. If the domain is blacklisted, the individual URLs can only be whitelisted or blacklisted.
- Alive: A URL that is alive is accessible on the open web. A URL that is marked as “alive” will be considered accessible until such a time as the resource can no longer be loaded. If set at the domain, ALL individual URLs will be set to Alive.
- Dead: A URL that is dead is not accessible on the open web and can return an error code, a non-200 series response, or no response. A URL that is marked as “dead” will be considered not accessible until such a time as the resource can be loaded. If set at the domain, all individual URLs will be set to Dead.
- Subscription required: Separate from their status as alive or dead, domains can be flagged as “subscription required,” referring to a website that restricts access to its content based on user registration or payment of subscription fees. When a domain is tagged as “subscription required,” this affects all URLs under that domain. A URL tagged as “subscription required” will be scanned normally, but certain responses will be interpreted as the bot not being able to get past some kind of registration requirement. In this case, the bot will neither classify the URL as alive or dead, and will be ignored. The URL will not be scanned from that point on.
- Changed state of a domain: Entire domains can have their attributes changed and locked at the domain level. Refer to the attributes above for details. When a user changes a domain level attribute, it is recorded as a log entry.
- Changed URL access date: InternetArchiveBot remembers the approximate access time a URL on the wiki was accessed. When a user changes the access time, it is recorded as a log entry.
- Changed URL archive snapshot: InternetArchiveBot remembers archive URLs for it’s recorded URLs. If a user changes the archive URL, it is recorded as a log entry.
- Analyzed a page: When a user runs the tool that analyzes a single page on wiki, it is logged as an entry.
- Submitted a bot job: When a user submits a series of pages to be worked on by InternetArchiveBot, it is logged as a bot submission with a unique job ID.
- Suspended a bot job: A user that has paused a bot job will have the action logged under this category.
- Unsuspended a bot job: A user that has resumed a bot job will have the action logged under this category.
- Killed a bot job: A user that has terminated a bot job will have the action logged under this category.
- Finished a bot job: When InternetArchiveBot, or some other entity somehow, completes a bot job, the completion will be logged under this category.