Talk:Proposals for closing projects/Closure of Simple English Wikiquote (3)

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

{{editprotected}} As the Simple English Wikiquotes project is about to be closed, I request that someone stick this:

A request for closure of Simple English Wikibooks has been successful. This means that this wiki will soon be closed. However, please continue to contribute here, as the content of Simple English Wikibooks will be merged into the English Wikibooks. You can participate in the discussion here.

The community would like to thank anyone who used and contributed to Simple English Wikibooks, and we hope that you will continue to visit us at our new home.

on top of the main page, rather than some obscure "This wiki has been locked (see discussion)." (Note: this header had been copied over from Simple English Wikibooks; feel free to revise it.) TeleComNasSprVen 21:44, 24 July 2010 (UTC)

...Wait, what? The project has been closed since before your account was created. {{Sonia|talk|simple}} 09:31, 25 July 2010 (UTC)
Yes, well, where will it go? Will everything be (deleted/merged into enWikibooks), and if so has the deletion/merge began? I wanted to put up a notice on the main page saying that it's been closed, lest others interfere with the process. The notice that's currently on the page implies that the discussion is still ongoing. TeleComNasSprVen 02:03, 26 July 2010 (UTC)
The wikiquote info will be going nowhere, the reason it was closed was largely because of issues of missquoting. Moving it somewhere would defeat the purpose of closing it. -Djsasso 18:21, 6 August 2010 (UTC)
Can you please respond to the points I'm making? TeleComNasSprVen 05:51, 7 August 2010 (UTC)
Where it will go: Theoretically, any useful content of closed wikis is moved to the Incubator (Proposals for closing projects/Archive note 2) but, judging from the backlog, this is not happening. If they have no useful content to incubate or if nobody steps forward to adopt them then, the default being inaction, any useless content seems to persist and to display the "A Wikimedia project" logo in perpetuity, as some kind of monument to failure. ~ Ningauble 14:47, 3 September 2010 (UTC)
  • Can't be done by meta admins. -Barras 08:50, 28 July 2010 (UTC)