Jump to content


From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki

No photo
Jan Nicolaas Meijer
Retired Entrepeneur

About me

User language
nl-N Deze gebruiker heeft het Nederlands als moedertaal.
en-3 This user has advanced knowledge of English.
de-3 Dieser Benutzer beherrscht Deutsch auf hohem Niveau.
fr-2 Cet utilisateur dispose de connaissances intermédiaires en français.
es-1 Esta persona tiene un conocimiento básico del español.
Users by language

My name is Jan Meijer. In 2021 I reached the age of 75. I have been married twice and have two grown up kids who gave me three grandchildren. I live and used to work in The Netherlands.

My work

As a self employed ICT consultant I use MediaWiki for documentation purposes. I urgently recommend my clients to do the same.

Currently I run two publically accessible wiki's: OchaWiki and FMeiWiki

The latter one I only recently started.

Contact me

E-mail my email
This page's discussion section

Eearly 2007 I found out what MediaWiki can do for me on the subject of documentation and I am very enthusiastic about its power!

At first I only deployed a simple MediaWiki site for internal use. It had little to no functionality more than the basic (I started with version 1.15.1 of the software)

As a self employed entrepreneur one has to perform many tasks. This made me act on a low level when it comes to increasing my knowledge of MediaWiki. I decided however to start improving it by contributing on some projects of the WMF. To start with, I will try to contribute to the translation process I am in for discussions on the content of the MediaWiki site, but still think my knowledge of the product is too new to be of great help. Nevertheless i will give my comments where I think it is worth it.

My personal experience with the MediaWiki products in relation to the TMF projects, is reflected in the article User:JanEnEm/My experiences