Consultation des souhaits de la communauté pour 2021/Prévisualisation du wikicode en temps réel

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
This page is a translated version of the page Community Wishlist Survey 2021/Real Time Preview for Wikitext and the translation is 44% complete.
Outdated translations are marked like this.

Bonjour à tous, et merci de venir vous informer sur la Prévisualisation en temps réel. Il s’agit du 4e souhait de la Consulation des souhaits de la communauté pour 2021. Cet article va décrire notre méthode pour construire une solution à ce souhait. Nous sommes preneur de tout retour de votre part pour améliorer au mieux le produit.

Résumé des objectifs du souhait : permettre aux contributeurs utilisant le wikicode de voir le rendu de la page pendant qu’ils écrivent.

Souhait original

Remarque : pour éviter toute confusion, nous avons renommé le titre du souhait et le nom du projet « prévisualisation en temps réel » (c’était « prévisualisation en direct » auparavant). En effet, une fonctionnalité différente s’appelait déjà Prévisualisation en direct.

Le wikicode est un langage à balises pour wiki. Il est utilisé par de nombreux utilisateurs pour la mise en forme sur les wikis. Le code est différent de ce que les lecteurs voient. Lorsque l’on travaille avec du wikicode, il peut être difficile de s’imaginer le rendu du résultat final. C’est pourquoi de nombreux utilisateurs utilisent la fonctionnalité de prévisualisation avant de publier leurs modifications. Cependant, cela nécessite une étape en plus du processus de rédaction du wikicode.

Pour faire simple, nous pouvons résumer la problématique du souhait original ainsi :

Comment les contributeurs s’assurent que les changements qu’ils réalisent produisent bien ce qu’ils souhaitent ?

Du point de vue produit, permettre aux contributeurs de voir le rendu du balisage en temps réel permettrait :

  • d’améliorer l’expérience contributeur en réduisant le nombre d’étapes (clics) supplémentaires pour faire une modification ;
  • de permettre aux contributeurs de repérer des coquilles et du wikicode erroné pour les corriger immédiatement et maintenir la qualité du wiki.

Solutions proposées

Exigences pour le design

Voici un ensemble d’exigences pour le design pouvant être demandées par les contributeurs pour avoir une manière de prévisualiser leur contenu.

En tant qu’utilisateur contribuant en wikicode avec un écran d’ordinateur, je peux :

  • avoir une option pour prévisualiser le rendu du wikicode ;
  • rendre la sortie de la prévisualisation défilable, afin que je puisse facilement voir des éléments du rendu sans que celui-ci occupe tout l’écran.

Portée et limites

Le bouton de prévisualisation en temps réel sera disponible :

  • sur les outils de rédaction en wikicode (nous ne toucherons pas à l’éditeur visuel) ;
  • pour la contribution depuis un ordinateur ;
  • pour les écrans d’une largeur supérieure à 1 200 px en mode paysage (disposition horizontale), la taille normale permettant de positionner tous les éléments sur la page sans désordre (la largeur minimum pourra changer) ; en mode portrait (disposition verticale), ce sera activé par défaut.

Investigations chiffrées

Nous travaillons à répondre aux questions suivantes qui nous permettrons de mieux comprendre le problème :

  • Combien de contributeurs prévisualisent leurs modifications ?
    • La prévisualisation permet-elle d’avoir moins de révocation ?
  • Combien de contributeurs utilisent des écrans de taille ordinateur pour contribuer sur les wikis ?
  • Est-il pertinent d’utiliser la disposition verticale par défaut ?

Pourquoi et comment avons-nous accepté ce souhait ?

Community Tech Wishes Prioritization Score.png

Ce souhait a été bien placé dans liste de priorités pour 2021. Il a été très populaires (grand nombre de votes), présentait d’importants bénéfices pour la communauté et semblait relativement peu complexe à mettre en place. Vous pouvez lire notre processus complet.

Release Timeline

Release Timeline
Item Status Actual Date Target Date Notes
Deploy to test wiki for user testing purposes Complete 2022-03-30 2022-03-30
Enable on Beta cluster – Beta English Wikipedia and Wikisource only, since Realtime Preview changes the UI slightly for everyone even when you don't have it turned on Complete 2022-03-30 2022-03-30
Merge MVP for QA to Review Complete 2022-04-26 2022-04-08
Confirm MVP Top Priority tasks merged and QAd Complete 2022-04-26 2022-04-08
Get a final greenlight from Design QA In Progress 2022-04-15
Train w work deployed to Polish Wiki Complete 2022-04-26 2022-04-27 Designer to schedule user video calls to observe users and design accordingly
First pilot wiki as an opt-out beta feature: plwiki Complete 2022-04-26 2022-04-27
Announcement on project page & any tool-specific pages Not Started 2022-04-30
Pilot wikis as an opt-out beta feature: huwiki, cawiki, viwiki, fawiki, fiwiki Not Started 2022-05-24
Get greenlight from Performance Review In Progress 2022-05-24
Announcement on project page & any tool-specific pages Not Started
Announcement in #release-announcements Slack channel Not Started
Bugs identified and cut Not Started Should happen as soon as we release to the first wiki
Bugs triaged Not Started Should happen as soon as we release to the first wiki
Announcement in Tech/News Not Started To be done when releasing to all wikis
Release to group 0 and group 1 as opt-in Beta Not Started Target: October or later
Bigger pilot wikis as opt-in Beta Not Started Target: October or later
All wikis as opt-in Beta Not Started Target: October or later
Graduate Beta Feature to Feature for All Not Started


Dernières mises à jour

May 3, 2022: Launching to partner projects

We have launched a version of the Realtime preview feature to Polish Wikipedia. Its community has agreed to partner with us and give us feedback on how to improve it before we launch to the rest of the users. Please find our complete Release Plan.

This feature touches one of the most used editors (Wikitext 2010) across wiki projects. We've thus decided to roll it out as a Beta Feature before we release the feature to everyone. This will allow us to collect feedback and make improvements before we release to everyone.

We are partnering with users early on to understand behavior on the new tool and make improvements. Depending on the user’s connection, we are aiming to observe and evaluate patterns regarding the automatic and manual reloads of the preview pane, as follows:

  • Automatic reload: Debounce time. When the preview pane is automatically reloading, is our debounce time sufficient to provide a fluid experience?
  • Automatic reload: Discoverability of the manual reload button. When the preview pane is automatically reloading, is the manual reload button that appears while hovering over the preview pane easy to find?

and/or

  • Manual reload: Discoverability/Display time of the manual reload status bar.

When the preview pane is NOT reloading automatically, the user will see a status bar inviting them to manually reload. Is the discoverability of the bar sufficient? Is the status bar obstructive to the users’ workflows?

We will aim to observe both of these scenarios for users with stable high-speed internet connections. In both cases, we will be performing the test on two pages: one short article without images (for faster reload time) and another one with a large content and multimedia assets (for slower reload time).

Aside from our main investigation, we will also be observing the following during our screen-sharing sessions with users:

  • Discoverability of the overall feature: although users will be notified of the existence of the realtime preview feature, and the potential relationship between the latter and the "Show preview" feature.
  • User screen sizes- This data could be helpful to understand how useful the Realtime Preview is for folks with a smaller screen. Does this make their experience too crowded?
  • Usage of syntax highlighting/Code Mirror
  • Understanding that both panes do not have a synced scrolling behavior.

If you would like to give us any feedback on any of the open questions above, please reach out to us in the talk page as we are eager to hear about the usability of this new feature. Thanks for building with us!

2 novembre 2021 : trouvailles des tests utilisateur du design

Bonjour à tous,

Merci sincèrement pour votre soutien et vos retours massifs sur les designs proposés. Merci pour vos messages sur la page de discussion et pendant la dernière visioconférence « Discutez avec nous ». Nous avons beaucoup appris sur la manière dont les utilisateurs expérimentés contribuent.

Par ailleurs, nous avons mené des tests de facilité d’utilisation sur la plateforme usertesting.com, auxquels 5 contributeurs ont pris part. Vous trouverez ci-dessous certaines des trouvailles et intuitions dégagées :

  • La moitié des utilisateurs ont trouvé le nouveau bouton « Prévisualiser » dans la barre d’outil. Une des raisons à cela peut avoir pour origine les modèle comportementaux développés à partir du bouton « Prévisualiser » existant en bas de la boite de l’éditeur. Nous allons concevoir un point clignotant peu dérangeant avec un guide surgissant. Nous espérons que cela permettra de remarquer plus facilement cette nouvelle fonctionnalité.
  • All users found the existing "show preview" button.
  • All users understood the difference between both buttons. One could be used while editing (offering a quick glimpse at the output). The other could be more helpful for proofreading before publishing the changes.
  • One user reported that it might always be easy to understand the relationship between the Wikitext input and the preview output. To mitigate this, we are exploring ways to highlight the text in both panes and align the scrolling or editing behavior.

Acknowledgments:

  • Not all of these editors are experienced users. Although this wish is intended to be helpful for every user – we assume that less experienced editors will tend to use the Visual Editor over the wikitext editor. This will make the new feature less relevant for them.
  • We are also working on improving the scaling of both panes. We want to allow for optimal support to both small and ultra-wide displays alike.

Again, thanks so much for your feedback!

September 14, 2021: Next steps about the design


Thank you for your feedback

Hello all, we are back with an update on the proposed designs for this wish. Thanks for all of your comments on the talk page. We heard what you said and synthesized the feedback as follows:

  • The button to preview the wikitext output should be more intuitive, the person clicking it should know what it does.
  • The button to preview the text should be in the toolbar.

We then took a second try at creating the following set of designs. We are proposing a new button appears in the toolbar:

RTpreview-legacy-vertical-untoggled.png

We are proposing than when user previews the content, the preview button label remains "blue" to indicate that the preview state is on, and activated:

RTpreview-legacy-vertical-toggled.png

The preview button would turn back to black if users toggle it off and the preview would disappear.

Horizontal vs Vertical

Please note that these proposed designs are illustrative. We only included a vertical version because we are currently investigating if the ability to have a wide screen will still be an option given the planned and upcoming work on Web desktop improvements which would limit the page to 960px in width, making it too cluttered to have a horizontal view.

Open Questions: We want to hear from you!

  • Does the new button placement seem more intuitive to the workflows in the toolbar?
  • Does the current proposed layout feel like there is enough space to view both the wikitext and the output?

Thanks so much for your continued feedback on the talk page!

August 27, 2021: Initial Design Feedback


Proposed Designs

Horizontal Desktop Layout

A new button will appear. This gives editors the option to preview the text on the side in real-time:

Live Preview-collapsed-horizontal annotated.png

Note: The pink box above is just to draw attention to the button, it will not actually appear to users.

Editors will be able to click on the button highlighted above. If they do that, the following layout would allow them to preview the output in a scrollable fixed container:

Live Preview-expanded-horizontal.png

Vertical Desktop Layout

The following new user interface element will appear when a user has a vertical desktop screen:

Live Preview-collapsed-vertical annotated.png

Note: The pink box above is just to draw attention to the button, it will not actually appear to users.

Editors will be able to click on the button highlighted above. If they do that, the following layout would allow them to preview the output in a scrollable fixed container:

Live Preview-expanded-vertical.png

The engineers have begun work on these changes. We are introducing the changes inside of MediaWiki core. We'd love to hear your thoughts on our proposed designs. We'd especially love feedback on:

  • Making the copy and button placements intuitive
  • The overall feel of the proposed designs

We're looking forward to hearing your thoughts on our proposed designs and any other considerations!

Open Questions: We want to hear from you!

The solutions above are proposed and in early stages. We'd love to hear your feedback on the talk page. Your insight can help us understand other approaches, risks, and solutions.

These are our questions to you:

  • How do you think this will influence the way you edit?
  • Does the icon on the expand button prepare the editors to understand what it does? Is it distrupting?


Relevant Links