Public outreach/Open hour

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
  Welcome       Get involved       Events and initiatives       Resources       Open hour       About        
Open door button 1996 Stock (cropped).jpg
  • Next open hour
Thursday, X, 2009, 18:00 UTC
  • Where?
#wikimedia-outreachconnect
  • Topics
  1. The new public outreach pages on Meta (first feedback, ideas for improvement)
  2. Strategy: the strategy wiki and the WMF board.
What is an "open hour"?

The public outreach open hour is a bi-weekly one-hour discussion forum on the IRC channel #wikimedia-outreachconnect. Everyone interested in public outreach is welcome and every participant is invited to suggest topics.

Suggest a topic

In order to guarantee a structured meeting, topics have to be announced in advance. If you want to discuss a certain topic, please add your topic to the section on the right hand. Topics shall be added at least 48 hours before the meeting takes place. All topics being added later will be discussed at the next meeting.

What if no topic is suggested 48 hours before the next meeting?

Well, then no meeting will take place ;-)

How do I participate?

Internet Relay Chat (IRC) is a form of real-time Internet chat, mainly designed for group communication in discussion forums, called channels. Our discussion will take place on the channel #wikimedia-outreachconnect. All you need to join our discussion is an Internet connection and an Internet Relay Chat (IRC) client software (ChatZilla is one of the many free IRC clients available). If you've never used IRC before, please have a look at IRC tutorial on the English Wikipedia. And please read IRC Meeting Recommendations before joining the discussion.

What about a Skype conference call instead of IRC?

Great idea! Hearing the voice of your dialog partner helps to prevent misunderstandings. Every good idea aimed at facilitating our communication is highly appreciated. Just let everyone know about your plans long enough in advance (e.g. at least a week previous to the scheduled meeting)

Upcoming open hours
  • Thursday, X, 2009, 18:00 UTC / 11:00 San Francisco / 14:00 Pittsburgh / 19:00 London / 20:00 Berlin / your town
  • Thursday, X, 2009, 18:00 UTC / 11:00 San Francisco / 14:00 Pittsburgh / 19:00 London / 20:00 Berlin / your town
  • Thursday, X, 2009, 18:00 UTC / 11:00 San Francisco / 14:00 Pittsburgh / 19:00 London / 20:00 Berlin / your town
I like the idea and would like to get a short notification on my Wikipedia user page about the next meeting

Please subscribe with your signature (using ~~~~) below

  1. Jonathan Groß 15:00, 29 August 2009 (UTC)
  2. DerHexer (Talk) 17:00, 1 September 2009 (UTC)
  3. Bodnotbod 21:33, 1 September 2009 (UTC) (can the notification be put on my Wikipedia talk page, so that I get the new message pop up? Perhaps that's what you meant anyway. If so you may wish to change the text above).
  4. ...