New Readers/Presentation

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Correct.svg This page is currently a draft. More information pertaining to this may be available on the talk page.

Translation admins: Normally, drafts should not be marked for translation.

Other languages:
English • ‎dansk • ‎español • ‎العربية
New Readers
Research and findings
  Outcome #1: Access
  Outcome #2: Awareness
  Outcome #3: Discovery
  Outcome #4: Retention
  Outcome #5: Syndication
Updates
FAQ and all pages

Please join us on September 28 at 16:00 UTC to review the research findings of the New Readers project! This 1.5 hour presentation will share findings from user research in Mexico, India, and Nigeria.

Why should you come?

  • India, Nigeria, and Mexico represent more than 1.5 billion people, more than 20% of the world
  • Current Wikipedia awareness and usage in these countries is low – less than 25% of people in Nigeria and India have even heard of Wikipedia
  • In pursuit of the Wikimedia vision to make knowledge accessible to “every single human being”, we aim to better understand users around the world and meet their real needs

Specifically, we will discuss:

  • Information seeking habits
  • Internet use, devices, and general knowledge patterns
  • Wikipedia awareness and usage
  • User personas developed from findings
  • Potential next steps and opportunities to better serve New Readers in Asia, Africa, and Latin America

More details on the project can be found on Meta-Wiki.

Join us on September 28 at 9am PDT / 4pm UTC / 9:30pm IST through our YouTube stream or with conferencing app BlueJeans.