Wikimedia meetings

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
For Wikimedia staff office hours, see IRC office hours.
WMF Board meetings Wikimedia Foundation (Wikimedia meetings)
This page provides information about meetings about the Wikimedia projects, including project-wide Open Meetings. Meetings listed here may involve Trustees and WMF staff, but are not official Board meetings (which must be announced in advance, and are listed at WMF Board meetings). A timezone conversion chart is available for meeting planning.

Please post additional information on recent and upcoming meetings and agendas below, and include minutes for meetings held (but not logs, unless it is clearly indicated at the start of a meeting that it will be logged.) Feel free to suggest new agenda items or topics, or new open meetings, on the discussion page. For topics related to Foundation governance, see also the Board meetings talk page.


Upcoming open meetings[edit]

  • Proposed date: First Saturday of the Month (maybe rotating to another day on alternate meetings - please give feedback on the talk page)
  • Proposed time: rotating -- see talk
  • IRC: Freenode, #wikimediaconnect
  • Who this is for: All interested Wikimedia community members

Past Meetings[edit]

November 1, 2012[edit]

July 2, 2011[edit]

  • announcements & projects
  • ... add yours here

Interested in attending? Sign up:

June 14, 2011[edit]

WM-UK community meeting - a biweekly IRC meeting.

When: 1800-1900 UTC
Where: #wikimedia-ukconnect on freenode.

Details at the page above.

2011[edit]

June 4, 2011[edit]

  • publicizing the election?
  • State of the board
  • new editor outreach
  • strategic plan (we did not have time to discuss this)
  • documentation revival: integrating Bookshelf and Live Help (we did not have time to discuss this)
  • ...add yours here

May 31, 2011[edit]

WM-UK community meeting - a biweekly IRC meeting.

When: 1800-1900 UTC
Where: #wikimedia-uk on freenode.

Details at the page above.


February 5, 2011[edit]

Please see Wikimedia meetings/2011-02-05 for the log.
time
1800-1900 UTC (convert here)
place
IRC: freenode#wikimedia (instructions)
  • Proposed agenda items:
  • continuing Wikipedia 10 events; Wikimania/local events rotation
  • ways to address the gender gap in editors
    other gaps in contribution, circles of inclusion
  • keeping identification documents of OTRS volunteers
  • Wiki Loves Monuments (even outside of Europe!)
  • Wikimania Bids - 2012 and beyond.
  • Account Creation Improvement Project
  • ...add yours here
  • Interested in attending? sign up:

2010[edit]

September 11, 1600 UTC[edit]

An open meeting is scheduled for Saturday September 11, at 1600 UTC. Please sign up if you hope to attend.

Even if you can't make it, feel welcome to add to the open agenda. Topics brought up as new business within a few hours of the meeting will be discussed at the end if there is time -- else they'll be fair game for the next meeting. SJ · talk 19:28, 7 September 2010 (UTC)


When: Saturday, September 11, 1600 UTC (0900 PDT | 1200 EDT | 1800 CEST | 2130 IST | 0200 SydneyEST), for 60-90 minutes.
Where: On #wikimedia , on irc.freenode.net. (Web IRC client)
Who: The curious, the chatty, the avid lurker, the meetbot... and you


Topics

from suggestions on the Talk page

Intro: about open meetings (questions, answers)

  1. Strategic plan objectives and next steps (and the Foundation's part in movement roles)
  2. Best ways to communicate the work of the board
  3. Favorite ice cream flavors
  4. Controversial content research
  5. (this and other) Meeting calendars
  6. Concerns raised about volunteer developers v. staff ([1])
  7. What do you recommend as strategy for chapters in US?
  8. Wikimania controversy
  9. ...

June 17, 2010[edit]

An open meeting was held on Thu June 17 at 1700 UTC (discussion).

When: Thursday, June 17, 17:00 UTC (10:00 PST | 13:00 EST | 19:00 CEST), for ~90 minutes.
Where: On #wikimedia , on irc.freenode.net. (Web IRC client)


Topics

  • Wikimania (present & future) - a 'mania committee? and an open meeting there
  • Commons revisited - how is the current discussion going?
  • Theme songs
  • Foundation growth (see last meeting's minutes)
  • Better communication, language barriers
  • Wikimedia Spain's approval process status
  • ...


May 12, 2010[edit]

An open meeting was held on Wednesday, May 12. Minutes will be linked from the talk page. –SJ · talk | translate 01:44, 10 May 2010 (UTC)

When: Wednesday, May 12, 19:00 UTC (12:00 PST | 15:00 EST | 21:00 CEST) [~90 minutes.]
Where: On #wikimedia , on irc.freenode.net. (Web IRC client)


Topics of discussion

  • Commons content
    Is Commons 'just' a backend for projects, or its own curated library? Who is its audience?
    What is the potential harm of hosting controversial images? Are some images directly harmful to some of our audience?
    Do we want all art? Are invitations for image donations awkward because we may delete some of '[institution]'s pics if we don't find them educational?
  • Outreach to new audiences
    Being welcoming to different audiences, controversial content
    Possibilities other than curating our collection: (rating, filtering etc)
    Is WMF Outreach to secondary schools well defined, do we know what schools need? Are we clear enough in communicating the nature of materials hosted?
    Is outreach to children appropriate or prudent given the 'not censored' principle? What are the benefits and risks?
  • Wikimedia community
    Self-governance of Projects
Cross-project policies, interproject relations

Notes: Wikimedia meetings/May 12, 2010

2009[edit]

September 11, 2009[edit]

An open meeting with new Board members (Arne, Samuel, and Matt).

When: Friday, September 11, 18:00 UTC (11:00 PST | 14:00 EST | 20:00 CEST)
Where: On #wikimedia , on irc.freenode.net.

It ran for roughly 90 minutes.

A proposed agenda was developed from questions asked in advance on on the talk page. For those who could not join the chat, and for questions raised at the meeting, all participants are encouraged to work on questions on the talk page (initial answers have been posted for all questions).

2007-2008[edit]

...none listed


2006[edit]

February 5[edit]

February 11[edit]

  • Sat February 11, 2006 - this meeting followed up on some of the points raised on February 5. It was the last open meeting for some time.
    See above for details.

2005[edit]

2004[edit]