A registered user is a user who has signed up for an account and has logged in to a Wikimedia project. In addition to what an unregistered user can do, a registered user can:
- create new articles
- set preferences
- register pages for "watching"
- upload files such as pictures, sounds etc.
- mark edits as Minor
- create their own user page
- move pages
The full list of rights is available at Special:ListGroupRights.
All edits made as a registered user will show the user name in the history instead of an IP address.
Registered users (excepting administrators or developers) cannot edit or move protected pages. Newly registered users cannot edit semi-protected pages or move any page. Several other minor restrictions, depending on the wiki, may apply to newly-registered users (per bugzilla:12556, media uploads are an autoconfirmed right on most wikis, Commons being a notable exception).
Registered users on Wikimedia Commons include trusted users. As Commons has many Flickr images and requires reviewers to ensure that claimed copyrighted licenses are valid, a registered user familiar with Commons licensing may apply to become a trusted user, which is a user sub-class on Commons. Current Commons administrators need not apply to become trusted users as they already have a higher user class than registered users.
As of June 12, 2008, the autoconfirmed limits on the majority of wikis is four days with no edit count requirement. ar.wiki, en.wiki, es.wiki and pl.wiki have a minimum number of edits to reach autoconfirmed status; as of March 2012 zh.wiki and es.wiki have the highest requirement, 50 edits, while the others require 10 at most. de.wikibooks requires seven days to reach autoconfirmed status. Other requests to increase such limit have been rejected in the past, see Limits to configuration changes.