Community Wishlist Survey 2017/Miscellaneous/Remember site notice dismissals

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Random proposal ►

 ◄ Back to Miscellaneous  The survey has concluded. Here are the results!


  • Problem: When browsing Wikipedia with Firefox in private mode, the same site notices pop up again in each new session after logging in, presumably because dismissing site notice(s) is recorded in (a) cookie(s) that get discarded after closing Firefox. This also happens when using multiple browsers or devices.
  • Who would benefit: Registered users using session cookies and/or multiple browsers or devices.
  • Proposed solution: Record the dismissal of a site notice on the server as part of the user data so that this information is preserved between sessions and identical in multiple browsers and devices.
  • More comments:
  • Phabricator tickets:

Discussion[edit]

  • The dismissal works for me. Do you have some browser add-on installed that deletes cookies at the end of the session? Anomie (talk) 00:34, 20 November 2017 (UTC)
  • Storing the dismissal as part of user data would be useful even to those of us who don't use private mode. I view Wikipedia on a dozen browsers spread across nearly as many devices, and playing whack-a-banner gets tiring after a while. --Carnildo (talk) 23:31, 28 November 2017 (UTC)

Voting[edit]