Jump to content

維基媒體基金會理事會選舉/2022年/候選人/Gina Bennett

From Meta, a Wikimedia project coordination wiki
This page is a translated version of the page Wikimedia Foundation elections/2022/Candidates/Gina Bennett and the translation is 100% complete.

Gina Bennett (Redwidgeon)

Redwidgeon (talk meta edits global user summary CA  AE)

Gina Bennett
  • 个人:
    • 姓名: Gina Bennett
    • 所在地: Canada
    • 語言: English, with a little French and Spanish
  • 编辑史:
    • 何时成为维基人: 2006
    • 活跃的wiki: English Wikipedia, Meta-wiki, Wikimedia Commons, Wikiversity
Introductory statement / Application summary.
This section to be translated. (150 word maximum)
I made my first edit in English Wikipedia in 2006. However, I did little editing until 2016, when I retired from my job as educator. Since then I have contributed mostly as a Wikignome, helping to improve articles though copyediting, improved translation, writing lead paragraphs, etc. I was an active participant and graduate of the Education Greenhouse Project (2020); a mentor and mentee in the Wikipedia & Education User Group Mentorship Pilot (2021); contributed a [to Wikiversity] (2021); and currently serve on the Wikimedia Regional Grants Committee, US & Canada (2021-2023).
  • 組織策略與管理
  • 企業級平台技術和/或產品開發
  • 公共政策和法律
  • 社會數據科學、大數據分析和機器學習


In my vocation as educator, I provided leadership for many curriculum projects, both domestic and international. Working in small teams, we assessed educational & community needs, devised delivery strategies, implemented and evaluated projects. Most of our projects involved educational technology, configuring and supporting learning management systems. I have little formal experience with public policy law, data science and analysis, or machine learning. My main skills are related to team building and support, active analytical listening, and appreciative strategy development.
Most of my life has been lived in small, rural communities on both east and west coasts of Canada; I have very little lived experience of the stated areas of particular interest. However, in my work as curriculum developer, I have participated in projects with on-site teams in a number of international locations, including Tanzania, Kenya, Colombia, Ecuador, and Chile.
I have linguistic fluency only in English, although I can function at a basic level in French and Spanish. I do love languages and am currently learning Swahili, Welsh, and Esperanto (as well as attempting to expand my French and Spanish fluency). I have, for decades, volunteered as an English tutor for immigrants new to Canada or preparing for citizenship and consequently have enjoyed vicarious exposure to a wide variety of cultures. Earlier in my career I completed a Post-Graduate certificate program in Intercultural Communication, which has aided me greatly in my various international postings.
My career as an educator was focused almost entirely on developing and implementing ways to increase access to information and learning, and to the many doors such opportunities open. When teaching, my students have usually been adults who needed literacy, linguistic, or numeracy support before being able to access post-secondary or vocational programs. When working with learning management systems, my focus was always on finding ways to include and engage students who had previously been denied educational access due to isolation, parental responsibilities, disability, or work schedules. My international work was usually focused on helping educators develop skills to develop their own, culturally-appropriate curriculum rather than relying on curriculum imported or inherited from colonial education systems.

Throughout my career, I have been a strong proponent of open access: open science, open data, Creative Commons publishing, and (of course) Wikipedia.

I have been extremely fortunate to live the privilege of a white, cis-gender woman in a generally liberal and tolerant country. As a young woman pursuing a career in science, I encountered some roadblocks because of my gender but this discrimination has reduced considerably over the years. My heritage does include indigenous ancestors but I was not raised nor identified as a member of that cultural group. Given my "senior" age I do encounter some ageism; although that is annoying, it has not interfered with my ability to contribute to my family or community.
驗證 驗證由選舉委員會或維基媒體基金會工作人員執行。
資格: 已驗證
验证者: Matanya (talk) 09:12, 17 May 2022 (UTC)[reply]
身份验证: 已驗證
验证者: Joe Sutherland (Wikimedia Foundation) (talk) 23:54, 18 May 2022 (UTC)[reply]